PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] GUI for Server

nyihtut100
September 20th, 2008, 07:01 AM
I am new to Ubuntu -- i like to used Ubuntu much than windows
but i have some questions

1. can i install Ubuntu Desktop on Windows Vista?
if yes which software to used it and how to install?

2. can i install Ubuntu Server on Windows Vista?
if yes which software to used it and how to install?

3. can i install Ubuntu Server on Ubuntu Desktop?
can i install Ubuntu Desktop on Ubuntu Server?

the most important things is how to change the Server to GUI mode?

quinnten83
September 20th, 2008, 07:11 AM
Hey,
your questions are a bit incomprehensible.
Do you mean the following:
- you have a computer with Vista installed, but you also want to install ubuntu on this same computer and be able to choose which operating system to
use when you start the computer?
The answer to this is yes, the installation process of Ubuntu will walk you through it, but make a backup!!!!

If you mean that you want ubuntus interface on your vista. I don't think that is possible.

if you have a server installation, you can install the desktop environment of ubuntu so everything is gui:

sudo apt-get install ubuntu-desktop

Shazaam
September 20th, 2008, 07:15 AM
1. Yes. It is called a WUBI install. It is like normally installed software in Windows meaning you can go to Add/Remove Programs in Windows and uninstall it. There is a subforum for it here. Later on if you find that you like Ubuntu you can convert your WUBI installation into a normal hard drive install.
2. Not sure.
3. The difference (besides a few software changes) between the Desktop version and the server version is that the server version does not have a pre-installed desktop (graphical user interface). You can always change the server version to a desktop one by installing the meta package ubuntu-desktop. It will be harder to go the other way (Desktop to Server).

zvacet
September 20th, 2008, 08:49 AM