PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Installing 32bit Ubuntu on a 64bit machine

WhyCantEveryOSBePerfect
September 20th, 2008, 05:19 AM
Hi there! I'm new to Linux, but I thought I knew what I was doing when I decided to make a partition and intall it. I need a 32 bit OS to connect to my school's wireless client, and decided, hey, what a great time to get linux/ubuntu. So with my 64-bit Vista I created an unallocated space of 20.1GB on my hard drive, downloaded the .iso of ubunto (ubuntu-8.04.1-desktop-i386.iso), burned the image to the cd and rebooted to the cd. When I get to the partition section (step 4 of 7 I think) there are two options, Guided and Manual. My computer uses RAID0 so it has 2 disks, and when I do "guided" I can only pick one of them. When I get to step 7 of 7 I haven't seen any of the other two partitions or the 20GB unallocated space. (the other partitions are 350GB or so with Vista 64 bit and a 13GB backup section, both NTFS I believe). On step 7 of 7 it says if I continue I will reformat 1 of the two 200GB disks, and I don't want that to happen. I didn't see an option to use the unallocated space. Help?

peakshysteria
September 20th, 2008, 06:50 AM
Have you seen this howto: http://www.howtoforge.com/the-perfect-desktop-ubuntu-8.04-lts-hardy-heron

Kilz
September 20th, 2008, 12:32 PM
I need a 32 bit OS to connect to my school's wireless client,

Are you sure? That would depend on the wireless hardware you have.
If you are saying you need some specific 32bit application, 32bit applications can be setup to run in the 64bit os.

peakshysteria
September 20th, 2008, 06:10 PM
I would check with the technical staff at your school. As Kilz point out this sounds weird. You should be able to run a 64 bit Ubuntu without a problem. Your school can advice you about this.

WhyCantEveryOSBePerfect
September 20th, 2008, 08:39 PM