PDA

View Full Version : [kubuntu] two hard drives one windows one kubuntu

rhawnie
September 20th, 2008, 01:46 AM
:confused: Hi,

I am new to linux and I am having a problem I don't know if it is the set up, the installation, or because of the 2 OS.

I have 2 hard drives set up in my tower one has XP, the other had kubuntu. Before I installed kubuntu both hard drives were available for boot prioity now I can only set one of them at a time.

I was hoping to be able to choose which one I wanted on start up. Also when I restart or shut down in kubuntu the program shuts down, the screen goes black but the pc stays on.

Thanks

Fixman
September 20th, 2008, 01:52 AM
:confused: Hi,

I am new to linux and I am having a problem I don't know if it is the set up, the installation, or because of the 2 OS.

I have 2 hard drives set up in my tower one has XP, the other had kubuntu. Before I installed kubuntu both hard drives were available for boot prioity now I can only set one of them at a time.

I was hoping to be able to choose which one I wanted on start up. Also when I restart or shut down in kubuntu the program shuts down, the screen goes black but the pc stays on.

Thanks

Here (http://apcmag.com/how_to_dual_boot_linux_and_windows_xp_linux_instal led_first.htm?page=5)

rhawnie
September 20th, 2008, 04:41 AM
thanks

Would you mind directing me to a few good sites for beginner's? It would be much appreciated. :-D

kansasnoob
September 20th, 2008, 04:50 AM
I'm not sure what you're saying. Do you get the grub screen when you start up? I mean can you select which OS to boot at start up? Or do you have to change the BIOS?

rhawnie
September 20th, 2008, 04:54 AM
I get the grub screen only after I set it up to boot from the one hd with linux.

What about the shut down issue? Have any thoughts on that?

Thanks

kansasnoob
September 20th, 2008, 05:01 AM
I get the grub screen only after I set it up to boot from the one hd with linux.