PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] [SOLVED] Updates Icon

dartrod
September 19th, 2008, 10:03 PM
Hi, I'm new to Ubuntu and have a question about the "updates icon" that sets up automatically on the Hardy Heron Desktop. If I click on the icon it tells me there are 234 updates available.

My question is, since I am running the latest release of Ubuntu and will likely upgrade to the next release when available are these updates necessary?

RSW

Sealbhach
September 19th, 2008, 10:06 PM
Some of them are probably security updates so you should install them.

If you click on the Menu

System/Administration/Software Sources

and click on the Updates tab, you can reduce them number of updates by limiting them to important security updates only.

oilchangeguy
September 19th, 2008, 10:15 PM
Hi, I'm new to Ubuntu and have a question about the "updates icon" that sets up automatically on the Hardy Heron Desktop. If I click on the icon it tells me there are 234 updates available.

My question is, since I am running the latest release of Ubuntu and will likely upgrade to the next release when available are these updates necessary?

RSW

you need to go ahead and just install all of the updates. they don't take up that much room on the hard drive. and if you're using a highspeed internet connection, they don't take very long. even if you're going to upgrade to the next version there's nothing wrong with having your present install as current as possible.

Paqman
September 19th, 2008, 10:32 PM
If you click on the Menu

System/Administration/Software Sources

and click on the Updates tab, you can reduce them number of updates by limiting them to important security updates only.

You can also set it to install these security updates automatically. Since you're obviously not in the habit of manually running the update manager i'd highly recommend doing this. Linux has a deserved reputation for security, but it really only counts if your system is up-to-date with security updates.

zvacet