PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] ubuntu - not recognizing my nVIDIA graphics card

ninch
September 17th, 2008, 11:55 PM
Ubuntu 8.04 used to recognize my graphics card. I have been using it for about 3 weeks now. But now all of a sudden when I turned on my computer today, it could not recognize my nVidia geforce graphics card (series 7). A pop-up came in the beginning which said:

"Ubuntu is running in low graphics mode because it cannot recognize your graphics card. Click configure if you want to manually configure the graphics card, or cancel to run ubuntu in low-graphics mode."

I tried to configure it, but with no luck. I am kind of new to linux. I decided to run it in low graphics mode, and tried to change the screen resolution (which was 800x600 in the low graphics mode) to 1680x1050 (my default monitor resolution). However, the only screen resolutions I could choose were 800x600 and 600x400..

I am now on windows xp, and XP has recognized my graphics card fine, so I know that there is no problem with the card. If this helps, I did recently install "hardy-proposed" updates to my computer. Normally, I only install the security and the supported updates, but I wanted to try the hardy proposed updates..dont ask why :s

ANY help will be greatly appreciated.
Thanks in advance,

Ninch

ninch
September 18th, 2008, 12:33 AM
bump

IntuitiveNipple
September 18th, 2008, 12:39 AM
What nvidia video driver is installed?

The Ubuntu Restricted Driver is nvidia-glx-new. You might also have installed directly from Nvidia or using the Envy scripts.

It sounds as if you've installed a kernel update and not also updated the associated video chip-set driver kernel module.

ninch
September 18th, 2008, 01:08 AM
nvidia-glx-new is already installed, but the graphics card does not show up under the system->hardware drivers

I do not really understand what you mean.

Thanks for the post, though

EDIT: