PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Installing Ubuntu as dual boot with XP without GRUB

TheIllustriousPotentate
September 15th, 2008, 05:13 PM
Hello, I am a complete beginner to Linux. I looked around, and have found that Ubuntu seems to be the "easiest" Linux distrobution out there. I am not a computer geek, and I am not a comand line user; I'm a point a click user. I want to learn Linux so that I can use the comand line stuff, and "maybe...someday" get rid of Windows. At this time, however, I am not going to get rid of Windows. I know it, it works (for the most part), and any software I would ever want is available for Windows.

I want to partition my hard drive with XP on the first partition, and I want to put Ubuntu on the second partition. I have tried to install Ubuntu, and Grub will partition my drive, install Ubuntu on the second partition, then makes XP completely unacessable. XP shows up in the Grub boot screen, but when selected, the screen goes black, then Grub comes right back up. Ubuntu loads just fine.

I have tried reloading the MBR using the XP disc, and that does not work. Everything I try does not work, so I gave up and just wiped the drive, and reloaded XP. Later I decided to try loading Ubuntu again, but yet again, Grub destroys the MBR of XP, and XP will not load, and is unrecoverable.

Right now, I have (yet again) wiped the drive and reloaded XP. What I want to know, is if there is any way that I can load Ubuntu without Grub. It seems that Grub just will take over the process durring installation. I want to use Partition Magic to partition my drive, and use Boot Magic to boot between XP and Ubuntu. Unfortunately, no matter what I do, Grub just will take over durring the install. How can I install Ubuntu without Grub?

Thank you.

KazPed
September 15th, 2008, 05:17 PM