PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] New Install - A Few Questions

mgbolts
September 15th, 2008, 03:06 PM
Hi,

Apologies in advance if the answers already exist. I have spent many hours fixing some issues to get this far (a fried memory stick killed a few hours too!). I am new to UNIX and have a new install of Ubuntu AMD64(? I think).

Works great, very impressed with the platform! Appear to have got Webmin and Samba running, impressed myself.

Some niggling issues:

1. Couldn't get Sun java plugin working at first, installed ICEDTEA instead, seems to work. Still cant get the webmin file manager to work, just comes up a grey screen. Before I installed Icedtea, it would say it needed java. Any ideas?

2. Trying to get access to files on server from windows PC. Created a folder /mnt/public. Made a bunch of changes in Samba. I can see it on the server and also the windows pc but dont appear to have permissions for either.

Your assistance would be appreciated.

porchrat
September 15th, 2008, 03:14 PM
As far as accessing the ubuntu samba share from a windows PC...do you have firewalls up? Firewalls will generally cause havoc with samba shares.

You also need to be a little more specific, what happens when you try to access the share folder from the windows PC?

mgbolts
September 15th, 2008, 03:17 PM
Thanks, Not that I am aware of. Except maybe on the router, I have a D-link home wireless router which everthing goes through, the server is hardwired and PC is wireless.

Bucky Ball
September 15th, 2008, 03:19 PM
1/ Go to Synaptics Package Manager (System->Administration) and search for:

ubuntu-restricted-extras

Tick it and apply changes - there's your java.

2/

a/ Windoze - just right click on the partition/folder/file then Share and allow others to read and write in the setup there.