PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] How to apply a wine patch?



legolas_w
September 15th, 2008, 06:24 AM
Hi
Thank you for reading my post.
I have WinE 1.1.4 installed and I want to apply a patch to be able to play Spore the patch is available at http://bugs.winehq.org/attachment.cgi?id=15883 but I do not know how to apply it, can you pelase give me some pointer?

Do I need to get WinE source code to apply this patch?

Thanks

legolas_w
September 15th, 2008, 02:36 PM
Any Comment?

Thanks.

Kinetic777
September 15th, 2008, 02:40 PM
If I am correct, in order to apply a patch to WINE, you must obtain the source code, add in the patch and then compile it. There are numerous guides online on how to do this, good luck.

dave08
September 17th, 2008, 02:02 PM
Hi,

I am also trying to get spore working under wine. This is what I have done so far....

I used the following commands to download the wine source:


sudo apt-get build-dep wine
sudo apt-get install git-core
git clone git://source.winehq.org/git/wine.git ~/wine-git

To install wine I ran these commands:


cd ~/wine-git
./tools/wineinstall

Once wine installed I copied and pasted the patch (http://www.winehq.org/pipermail/wine-patches/2008-September/061125.html) into a file and saved it as 'spore.patch' in the wine-git folder. I then ran:


patch p1 < spore.patch

Some people have had success with this (see Spore 1.0 on Wine AppDB (http://appdb.winehq.org/objectManager.php?sClass=version&iId=13652)) but I cannot even install the game as it will not connect to the licensing server.

I hope you have better luck.

Dave

legolas_w
September 17th, 2008, 02:49 PM
Hi Dave,
Can you please share your binary of WinE with the patch applied?
I have been able to install Spore on WinE 1.1.4 although I use NO-CD patch for spore in order to get rid of Activation process. but the game is no as it should be :O , take a look at my screenshot at http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=914196&page=2
do you think that this problem can be fixed using the patched wine?

Thanks

dave08
September 18th, 2008, 08:15 AM
The patch I applied was to enable a connection to the licensing server for the initial install... so this patch will be of no help to you. If you look on Wine AppDB and see if someone with similar issues has posted a patch you can install it as I have shown above.

Dave