PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] My Samsung SCX-4200 Isnt working! :(

vivekv3
September 15th, 2008, 05:32 AM
Hey Guys,

Im a COMPLETE nooby to ubuntu(hardy heron), and I tried reading the forum about installing the "unified linux driver" for the scx-4200 that I downloaded from the samsung site, but I still cannot figure out exactly how to do it. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

bumanie
September 15th, 2008, 06:06 AM
Not sure if you've seen this step-by-step

[Ubuntu OS Installation]

1. Download and extract the driver
2. Open ”Root Terminal”
3. Execute installation program.
$ sudo cdroot/autorun
4. After intall, PPD path is set again.
$ sudo ln -s /usr/share/cups/model/samsung /usr/share/ppd/custom/samsung
5. Execute Configurator, and Add your printer model name by Add Printer
Also look at this thread (http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=341621)

yahs
September 16th, 2008, 11:22 AM
I have a Samsung SCX-4100 and I found it difficult to install correctly.

Ubuntu added the printer on installation but it did not have the driver for the SCX-4100, so printing did not work.
I downloaded and followed the instructions for installing the Samsung Unified Printer Driver and I had success, but in a different way to what was described.

After the installation an icon for the Unified Driver Configuration appears on the desktop showing 2 printers, scx-4100 (default) installed on mfp:/dev/mfp4 and SCX-4100_Series installed on usb://Samsung/SCX-4100%20Series

scx-4100 came from the unified driver download and installed on the first usb port.When I did a test everything appeared to be okay but nothing printed.
SCX-4100_Series was installed by ubuntu on installation and when I changed the printer driver (System, Administration, Printing, Make and Model)to SCX-4100 Series everything worked perfectly so I just deleted scx-4100 and I now have printing as normal with all features enabled.