PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] I am new and having problems

EdwardCullen
September 15th, 2008, 02:07 AM
I currently converted from Windows XP OS to Ubuntu, and my Linksys Wireless USB Network Adapter does not work because it was made for Windows. Therefore what should I do, also remember I am a total noob, I just got Ubuntu 1 hour ago, so I have no clue. I tried reading other things about this but was confused, I know there is a way to do this, but how?

Thanks,

EdwardCullen

PS this was the topic I read, but I did not understand: http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=553822
Also I am on my computer with Vista which works, but Vista is horrid.

tuxxy
September 15th, 2008, 02:10 AM
Heres a good networking guide (https://help.ubuntu.com/8.04/internet/C/index.html)

ALso if you dont understand something, post which part you are having difficulty in understanding

EdwardCullen
September 15th, 2008, 02:11 AM
I am having problems to fiqure out how to get the Linksys Wireless g USB Network adapter to work connect to internet.
I don't understand all of it pretty much :(

k33bz
September 15th, 2008, 02:13 AM
I currently converted from Windows XP OS to Ubuntu, and my Linksys Wireless USB Network Adapter does not work because it was made for Windows. Therefore what should I do, also remember I am a total noob, I just got Ubuntu 1 hour ago, so I have no clue. I tried reading other things about this but was confused, I know there is a way to do this, but how?

Thanks,

EdwardCullen

PS this was the topic I read, but I did not understand: http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=553822

actually, Linksys work very well with Linux, better with Linux than with windows. m(just my opinion)

crazypenguin2008
September 15th, 2008, 02:16 AM
i have the same exact linksys usb adapter on my second desktop and it conected right out of the box......same thing with my belkin usb wireless g usb adaptefr....

EdwardCullen
September 15th, 2008, 02:17 AM