PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] connect remotly to my xp pc...



inter-m
September 12th, 2008, 02:22 PM
im always using my ubuntu on my laptop at home but sometimes i need to use something my pc which happens to run xp... i want to access my pc from my laptop... and i heard about remote desktop connection... but i have no clue on where to start...

K.H

gvartser
September 12th, 2008, 02:35 PM
1) Enable Remote desktop on your XP machine:
http://www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/using/mobility/getstarted/enableremote.mspx

2) Install "rdesktop" on you Ubuntu machine:

sudo apt-get install rdesktop
OR
use synaptic package manager: search for "rdesktop"

3) Connect to your XP machine by entering the IP address in the connection display.

4) Done.

/g

dhtseany
September 12th, 2008, 02:48 PM
OR

Follow his link to enabling RDC and click on Applications -> Internet -> Terminal Server Client.

Fill in the needed info (Most likely you'll only need the name of the computer and set the protocol to RDC). Hit connect and you should be in business.

Peace
Sean

acidsolution
September 12th, 2008, 02:48 PM
rdesktop ip-address

if you want full screen than

rdesktop -f ip-address

to exit from fullscreen press
CTRL+ALT+ENTER

JoulesG
September 12th, 2008, 02:56 PM
... cool - yet another nail in Redmond's coffin!

Cheers

JoulesG
:lolflag:

JoulesG
September 12th, 2008, 02:57 PM
of course it alsoi works for remote Windows servers ...

JoulesG
:guitar:

tuskenraider
September 12th, 2008, 03:12 PM
me personally i use gnome-rdp i like it alot and its easier to use than command line or the terminal server client... but thats just me.

tusk

dhtseany
September 12th, 2008, 03:21 PM
Glad to hear your problem is solved!

Make sure to mark it solved under thread tools and thank whoever helped you ;)


peace
Sean

halitech
September 12th, 2008, 03:24 PM
you can also use Log Me In (http://www.logmein.com) to access the pc. It will allow you to access it from any computer with an internet connection.

inter-m
September 12th, 2008, 03:45 PM
thanx for this info... i tried all of that but the thing is how would i know my ip add on both my machines... keeping in mind i used http://whatismyip.com/ to get my ip... and the strange thing it gave me the same ip on both my laptop and pc...

halitech
September 12th, 2008, 03:50 PM
you can use dyndns to create a static hostname and use that to connect instead of the IP address.

are you using a router at home?

dhtseany
September 12th, 2008, 03:54 PM
A brief explaination is that you have a public IP for your DSL or cable (Thats what whatismyip.com spit back at you). You also have internal or local IP addys. On Window$ click on Start -> Run then type "cmd".

C:\> ipconfig
MS Network Config blah blah blah

Local Area Connection 1:
Network Address.... 192.168.1.2
Subnet Mask........ 255.255.255.0
Defaul Gateway..... 192.168.1.1


The network address will be your machine's IP address.

On UB open the terminal and type the following:

$: ifconfig
eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:14:22:cf:41:09
UP BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)
Interrupt:16

eth1 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:16:6f:18:fd:46
inet addr:10.15.20.100 Bcast:10.15.20.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
inet6 addr: fe80::216:6fff:fe18:fd46/64 Scope:Link
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:10454 errors:15 dropped:15 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:9453 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:2
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:404863955 (386.1 MB) TX bytes:45357071 (43.2 MB)
Interrupt:18 Base address:0x6000 Memory:dfcff000-dfcfffff

lo Link encap:Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
RX packets:2076 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:2076 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:103800 (101.3 KB) TX bytes:103800 (101.3 KB)


The bolded "inet addr:" if your local IP addy on the UB computer.

If you need more help just ask :)

Peace
Sean

Maheriano
September 12th, 2008, 03:55 PM
This will help me out as well, thanks fellas!

inter-m
September 12th, 2008, 03:56 PM
yes im using a router... and im not clear on the dyndns thing???

dhtseany
September 12th, 2008, 03:59 PM
If you don't need to access your XP box outside your house then don't worry about it. Use the method I showed you and use the local / inside your house addresses to connect to one another. I think what halitech was trying to explain is how to set this up so you can connect to your XP box outside of your house (ie from the office or a place with free wifi, etc).

Peace
Sean

halitech
September 12th, 2008, 03:59 PM
if you have a router then the external IP address would need to be forwarded to your computer and if its dynamic, it could change so if you have an account at http://www.dyndns.com/ then you could have a name like interm.homelinux.com and you would use that instead of having to try and find your external IP address all the time

inter-m
September 12th, 2008, 10:23 PM
thanx all for ur help... im happilly connected to my pc this moment all thanx to u guys... but i have a couple of inquiries before i mark it as solved... right now im connected from ubuntu to xp... but when i tried the opposite it didnt work... any ideas why???

how would i connect remotely from a computer outside my home network???