PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] I'm installing a new hard drive in my laptop.

Czarman
September 12th, 2008, 03:36 AM
I'm installing a new hard drive in my laptop. I want to reinstall XP Pro and add Ubuntu and SuSE Linux. In which order should I install the programs? Other people have suggested using Wubi or Gag (http://gag.sourceforge.net/index.html)(The Graphical Boot Manager). I'm new to Linux and need help in the best way to proceed.

Thanks,
Czarman

ronnielsen1
September 12th, 2008, 03:48 AM
I can't tell you how to do the partition setup because you don't say how big the hard drive is. I would load the windows first (well personally I would give the windows about 5 megs space but that's just me) as windows doesn't like not to be first (1st partition on the hard drive, then load Suse on the 2nd partition system and finally ubuntu since it's the best at picking up other OS's and will setup grub

Czarman
September 12th, 2008, 05:06 AM
Sorry!! The new hard drive is a WD Scorpio EIDE 250 gb.

SunnyRabbiera
September 12th, 2008, 05:10 AM
I would suggest installing XP first, then your other systems.

Bucky Ball
September 12th, 2008, 05:11 AM
I would suggest installing XP first, then your other systems.

Totally agree with SunnyR. Any other way is doable but more trouble than it's worth and problematic.

Czarman
September 12th, 2008, 09:30 AM
Thanks everyone for the help. What software should I use to make the partitions? Is there any advantage using a boot manager?

Thanks Again,
Czarman

acidsolution
September 12th, 2008, 09:39 AM
Well Czarman
First of all install winxp and and use the first partition to do so. other wise if u install linux in first partition than winxp denies to install if it found unknown partition in first sector.
Winxp doesnot recognise the linux installation so it will replace the mbr entry of linux.
So order of installation shuld be
WINXP
LINUX ( any distros ) in any order :)

Ps- This is mine 100th Posts..

SunnyRabbiera