PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Audio Driver Thinkpad T30 on Ubuntu 8.04

darkblueturbo
September 11th, 2008, 11:14 PM
Hi there,
I'm an absolute beginner on Linux, having been living in a Windows world my entire life.
I came across a laptop, an IBM T30, that I wanted as just a browsing machine so I thought I'd try Ubuntu rather than a heft XP install.

So far it's going fine - had a nightmare getting the Netgear wireless card to work, but managed to sort it out in the end thanks to lots of Googling and searching these forums.

The only problem I have now is that I noticed today that there's no sound coming from the speakers when I tried to watch a video on YouTube (same deal with any CD's or MP3's).
I've done some more Googling and forum searching and have found things such as ALSA and OSS - however, I'm having lots of problems trying to install them*, and what am I meant to do when they are installed to find and install my drivers.

HELP! I've been spoiled by .msi and .exe files you just click on and do everything

* When running the 'config' script in a terminal for the ALSA install I get: configure:1678: error: C compiler cannot create executables
See `config.log' for more details.
I downloaded the .tar file for OSSv4 and extracted the files OK, but when trying to run sh /usr/lib/oss/build/install.sh, per the instructions, I get the message
cd: 9: can't cd to /usr/lib/oss/build
install.sh: 27: /usr/sbin/ossvermagic: not found
ln: creating symbolic link `/usr/lib/oss/objects': No such file or directory
ln: creating symbolic link `/usr/lib/oss/modules': No such file or directory
Error: OSS core module for NOREGPARM kernel are not available

I've also tried the rpm and deb files for OSSv4 but have other problems installing them as well. I'm a bit rubbish (whisper it quietly, but I work in IT!)

spiderbatdad
September 12th, 2008, 12:05 AM