PDA

View Full Version : SAP competitor for ERP?

MaindotC
September 11th, 2008, 06:33 PM
I'm doing some stuff in class about Enterprise Resource Planning and one thing we've heard of is SAP. Are there any competitors to SAP? Any free, open-source that you know of? Have any of you prepared ERP and if so can you talk about your experience? Thanks!

bomanizer
September 11th, 2008, 07:21 PM
I'm using SAP at work. Maybe I can tell something...

My view is a bit narrow though, I mainly work in the Sales & Distribution- module and I'm stationed in the Logistics team in our organization. I'm a logistics engineer.

I think the main competitors for SAP are MS Dynamics AX (formerly Axapta), umm.. I think Oracle has some ERP products (can't remember any at the moment) and IBM also.

I've read about some OS ERP solutions... don't know about their maturity level, I think some are usable, but SAP challengers? I don't think so. I think even MS is falling way behind, especially when it comes to global systems. Our SAP is global, therefore it's called GSAP.

MaindotC
September 11th, 2008, 11:07 PM
Cool - thanks for the reply. I'm kind of new to the whole concept of this ERP business but we have to do a report on it by Wednesday :( I'll check out the others that you mentioned. I heard of free, open source version called Compiere (http://www.compiere.com/) so i'll probably mention it as an alternative. What do you contribute to your company's ERP?

bomanizer
September 12th, 2008, 04:32 PM
Contribute? Well, my role is that of an regular user, I just do with it stuff that I would do with any ERP or WMS (Warehouse Management System). My involvement is still a bit different, at the moment I'm nominated to be the next super-user for Logistics. That's a role for supporting the business and training users.