PDA

View Full Version : [all variants] Old Laptop New OS

fvshaggy
September 9th, 2008, 06:09 PM
Hey all,

Obviously I am new to Ubuntu or else I probably wouldn't be here. I have copied all my specs below and really want to run Ubuntu since I have heard a lot of great things about it. I am taking a class on Linux so it covers almost everything on the CompTia Linux+, but we are only getting started and the teacher seems to prefer Fedora over Ubuntu, we installed Fedora core 8 two times now, and he says he has little knowledge of Ubuntu. Maybe I am wrong but I think I can run Ubuntu fine on my old machine, maybe not. Thats where I need your help. I understand I might not be able to get the best graphics resolution but I really want to try and understand Ubuntu and switch over my Windows Me machine (:() to Ubuntu :). I don't know if its ok to ask if there is a stable version of maybe a different distro that would work better that you could recommend for my beast of a laptop I would be up for suggestions but would ultimately like to run Ubuntu. Sorry for my first post being kind of long just really interested. I took a look at the Ubuntu website and noticed it could run but there are only two types of downloads 64x and the other which would be my catagory, but its only one download unless I am suppose to omit the larger graphical files. Thanks guys and looking forward to the responses and sharing input and insight. Also more specs are available on request. I can pull those up easily.

Compaq Presario 12XL505 470009-467 0F0A
Windows Millennium Edition (build 4.90.3000)

Processor a
767 megahertz Intel Celeron
32 kilobyte primary memory cache
128 kilobyte secondary memory cache

10.03 Gigabytes Usable Hard Drive Capacity
6.45 Gigabytes Hard Drive Free Space

LG DVD-ROM DRN8080B [CD-ROM drive]
Generic floppy disk drive (3.5")

188 Megabytes Installed Memory

oilchangeguy
September 9th, 2008, 06:15 PM
Hey all,