PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Optiplex 320

Kurdy86
September 9th, 2008, 12:19 PM
Hi All,

I installed Ubuntu on my desktop optiplex 320.
Now when i start i see a black screen with B and green kubus or whatever it is. Anyway i have seen alot of people have the same problem. I read the threads but i cant make it work. This is my first time i use linux. Can you please help me?
Thanks,

Kurdy86
September 11th, 2008, 10:48 AM
Thanks all..i installed opensuse 11
Bye bye Ubuntu

Suparious
September 11th, 2008, 10:34 PM
For the purpose of this document, I am using a single SATA hard disk with the following partitions:

/dev/sda - the block device
/dev/sda1 - the root "/" partition
/dev/sda2 - the extended partition (not relevant to this document)
/dev/sda5 - the swap partition (not relevant to this document)

1. Using the ubuntu live cd installer, perform a normal install WITHOUT REBOOTING. You will need to specify additional boot options for the kernel to boot properly:

pci=nomsi acpi=off

2. Once your install has completed, configure your network (or add your CD to the synaptic repositories).

3. Open a terminal window and perform the following to mount your installed hard disk to '/target' and add your device configurations to it:

# assuming you have a '/target' folder from the install.
mount /dev/sda1 /target
# lilo will not install without the following:
mount --bind /dev /target/dev
mount -t proc proc /target/proc
# Root into the mounted filesystem
chroot /target

4. install 'lilo' and remove 'grub'

apt-get update
apt-get install lilo
apt-get remove grub

5. Configure your "/etc/lilo.conf" using the below as a guideline:

boot=/dev/sda
map=/boot/map
prompt
timeout=50
lba32
default=linux

image=/boot/vmlinuz
label=linux
initrd=/boot/initrd
read-only
root=/dev/sda1
append="quiet pci=nomsi acpi=off"

The most IMPERATIVE line to add here is: append="quiet pci=nomsi acpi=off"

6. install the lilo boot loader using:

lilo -b /dev/sda1
liloconfig