PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Cannot Mount CD/DVD Drive after upgrade

klezfire
September 4th, 2008, 09:17 PM
Hello, I am quite new to Ubuntu and all of linux for that matter however I am highly experienced with Windows. Anyways here is my problem... I tried to install Ubuntu 8.04 using the Live CD however I couldn't get it to load blah blah blah. So I used Ubuntu 7.10 (Fiesty) to install it on my computer and it was working "ok". My DVD Burner was working at this time. Anyways I proceeded to upgrade to Ubuntu 8.04 which is installed right now and working GREAT excpept the fact that when I go to use my DVD Drive it says this "Unable to mount location" "Cannot mount file". Any idea to why this isn't working, I have verified my DVD Drive is physically working because I can boot off from the Ubuntu 7.10 Disc. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

*Update* Not sure if this helps but if I click on the CD/DVD drive Icon it says "No media".

manishtech
September 5th, 2008, 11:17 AM
Insert the CD/DVD media in the drive and when it starts spinning, type this command at the terminal and press enter

sudo mount -t iso9660 /dev/scd0 /media/cdrom

Jota37
November 21st, 2008, 10:05 PM
Similar problem here... Actually, worse. It stopped mounting USB sticks too.

I have Ubuntu 8.04, which was working fine until some time ago. This week, when I tried to copy some data to USB sticks, none of them would not mount, either automatically or from the command line -- and I have sticks both formatted as ext3 and FAT, but none worked. Same thing at home, with Kubuntu 8.10 (DVD's are playing though, so they might be mounting fine).

I suspect some recent upgrade (NOT of the whole system, but of some part, by the Update Manager) broke this. I'm in the process of searching the fora right now for an answer...

Thanks for your attention!
J

Jota37
November 21st, 2008, 10:06 PM
Insert the CD/DVD media in the drive and when it starts spinning, type this command at the terminal and press enter