PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] [SOLVED] How Do I Uninstall Realplayer 11?

r4wj4
September 1st, 2008, 03:41 AM
I downloaded realplayer 11 which was a .bin file. Made that into a executable file(using chmod +x) and installed it. Now I want to uninstall it and there is no entry of it in synaptic(because manually installed). How do I uninstall it...any advice?

I'm a ubuntu/linux noob.

ranjithnair
September 1st, 2008, 06:26 AM
Try this
sudo dpkg -r realplayer
If the above does not work then try removing manually. Realplayer only installs a binary file named realplay, its icons and some more, not a lot. Just type:

locate realplay
Here how u remove it manually:
In Linux, open a Terminal (Applications->Accessories->Console (or Terminal)) and go with the command "cd" to each directory where the file is. Then, to remove it type:
sudo rm -f nameofthefile
If it is a directly then:

sudo rm -rf nameofthedirectory

r4wj4
September 1st, 2008, 09:23 PM
I found where its installed...its in /opt/real/RealPlayer. I just deleted that directory, but whenever I right click on a video file it still has the option to play it with realplayer...or whenever you set the file to open with a certain program real player it still a option. The icon still shows under Application>Sound & Video. How to I completely remove it.

"locate realplay" gave me 57 entries of all the reaplyer stuff...do i have to manually remove all of them?

thanks.

r4wj4
September 5th, 2008, 07:24 AM
bump

gonzomalan
September 29th, 2008, 09:09 AM
even though it says solved, i'm going to post my opinion that yes, you need to uninstall each file. and there are many. i am in the process of doing this myself and came across this entry.

JGable98
January 28th, 2009, 06:20 AM
This is what worked for me

sudo dpkg -r realplay 11.0.1.1056

jrusso2
January 28th, 2009, 06:24 AM