PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Installing ubuntu on latitude D630

jamedadi
August 31st, 2008, 08:21 AM
Hi
I am very new to linux and I need some help. I have a latitude D630 which has a Intel(R) Core (TM) 2 Duo processors. Know I have tow questions :

1- what release of ubuntu I have to install? i386 version or 64x version?
2- Can anyone please get me a clear checklist for installing ubuntu 8.04? I have already installed Windows XP on drive C, and I want to install ubuntu in other drive (for example D)

Thanks a lot

elishock2420
September 2nd, 2008, 02:03 AM
I have a Latitude D630 running Ubuntu 8.04. What type of video and wireless card do you have? Do you have an space set aside for ubuntu?
Installation is pretty straight forward. If you have an nVidia card it can sometimes be tricky, install envy from add remove programs and run the nvidia install it makes setting up the proper drivers easy. If you have more questions I can try to answer them.

linux_tech
September 2nd, 2008, 03:35 AM
This guide explains the best how to install ubuntu 8.04 with XP already installed to dual boot. http://apcmag.com/how_to_dual_boot_windows_xp_and_linux_xp_installed _first.htm
If you have a core 2 then you should download the 64 bit version
http://releases.ubuntu.com/hardy/

Wolfhere
September 6th, 2008, 03:55 AM
I have a D620. I added another drive in my bay. I then used the wubi.exe to install to my 'addon' partition. Dual boot works great..and I agree whole heartedly...use EnvyNG (loaded through synaptic manager). Problems with video through the Dock though. Release 8.10 is just around the corner and is supposed to have some fixes for the Dell Dock included.

waffen
October 1st, 2008, 10:13 PM
are you sure? because I just installed Ubuntu 32 bits and works fine... whats the difference?

sbrbot
October 5th, 2008, 07:31 AM