PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] How can I install Adobe Flash Player

ivann92
August 31st, 2008, 03:20 AM
What can I do to watch videos. For example, on Youtube,

minky311
August 31st, 2008, 03:34 AM
Go into the synaptic package manager by going to system->administration
and then search for adobe flash and check the adobe flash player for installation. Then apply it.

ivann92
August 31st, 2008, 03:44 AM
What do I do after that, do I still need to download the Flash Player. It still doesn't work.

minky311
August 31st, 2008, 03:50 AM
What exactly is happening?
And did you restart firefox?

ivann92
August 31st, 2008, 03:57 AM
Yes, I restarted Firefox and when I try to view a video on Youtube, this is the message that pops up
Hello, you either have JavaScript turned off or an old version of Adobe's Flash Player. Get the latest Flash player.

There is a link to download the flash player, and when I do I don't know how to install it. I am new to Ubuntu.

aysiu
August 31st, 2008, 04:00 AM
Ignore what YouTube tells you to do and listen to what Firefox tells you to do.

More details (with screenshots) here:
http://www.psychocats.net/ubuntu/flash

mike1234
August 31st, 2008, 04:08 AM
sudo apt-get install ubuntu-restricted-extras

M.

aysiu
August 31st, 2008, 04:16 AM

M.
That installs much more than just Adobe Flash Player.

You're also assuming ivann92 even knows where the terminal is to put that command.

mike1234
August 31st, 2008, 04:21 AM
That installs much more than just Adobe Flash Player.

You're also assuming ivann92 even knows where the terminal is to put that command.

It fixes any problems associated with media players, browser flash, and java errors. My bad for "assuming" I guess. You can search for it in Synaptic.

M.

ivann92
August 31st, 2008, 04:22 AM
Aysiu, I did what you told me to do, but I still cannot view videos on Youtube, but I went on another website with videos and downloaded the Flash Player.

aysiu
August 31st, 2008, 04:28 AM