PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Apache2 , access from the www



stevoo
August 29th, 2008, 11:55 PM
I am trying to bring the small test site that i created onto the web, using apache2.

I created a new site in sites-available named it my site
and gave it the following

<VirtualHost 139.222.232.252>
ServerAdmin webmaster@localhost

DocumentRoot /var/www/
<Directory />
Options FollowSymLinks
AllowOverride None
</Directory>
<Directory /var/www/>
Options Indexes FollowSymLinks MultiViews
AllowOverride None
Order allow,deny
allow from all
</Directory>

ScriptAlias /cgi-bin/ /usr/lib/cgi-bin/
<Directory "/usr/lib/cgi-bin">
AllowOverride None
Options +ExecCGI -MultiViews +SymLinksIfOwnerMatch
Order allow,deny
Allow from all
</Directory>

ErrorLog /var/log/apache2/error.log

# Possible values include: debug, info, notice, warn, error, crit,
# alert, emerg.
LogLevel warn

CustomLog /var/log/apache2/access.log combined
ServerSignature On

Alias /doc/ "/usr/share/doc/"
<Directory "/usr/share/doc/">
Options Indexes MultiViews FollowSymLinks
AllowOverride None
Order deny,allow
Deny from all
Allow from 127.0.0.0/255.0.0.0 ::1/128
</Directory>

</VirtualHost>

i then changed it to use that one by : sudo a2ensite mysite
did a graceful restart ... and after a lot of trial and error i cannot push the site to go live.

Any tips please ?
i tried apache site for help, still i couldnt make it go up

:popcorn:

mrsteveman1
August 30th, 2008, 01:22 AM
So is apache running? is it listening on port 80? can you get to at least some default "nothing here' page by pointing a local browser at 127.0.0.1:80 ?

stevoo
August 30th, 2008, 12:03 PM
i can view my website normally if i go to localhost, 127.0.0.1 and 139.222.232.252

But i cannot make the site live.

Is there something else that needs to be done ?

scragar
August 30th, 2008, 12:21 PM
have you tried removing the bold line(s)?


<Directory "/usr/share/doc/">
Options Indexes MultiViews FollowSymLinks
AllowOverride None
Order deny,allow
Deny from all
Allow from 127.0.0.0/255.0.0.0 ::1/128
</Directory>

stevoo
August 30th, 2008, 12:35 PM
Tried that but nothing.
139.222.232.252
is still unacessible.....

az
August 30th, 2008, 12:54 PM
Does your ISP block port 80? Many of them do.

stevoo
August 30th, 2008, 12:59 PM
i wouldnt be sure :)

But it could be the university firewall and stuff. . .

Offcourse i have no way of knowing ....

But the setting should be ok and working ?

mrsteveman1
August 30th, 2008, 07:01 PM
The settings look fine.

If you want to test things, change the Listen line to 81 or something similar and restart apache, then see if it works.