PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Need help with streaming e-books.

frewhy
August 29th, 2008, 07:42 PM
Hi there.
Just want to start with saying that I'm completely new to Ubuntu and Linux in general. I installed EEE Ubuntu last night on my girlfriends new Asus PC 900. This forum really helped me out with its great walktroughs, like getting w32codecs etc. Big thanks!

Me and my girlfriend like to listen to streaming e-books from a Swedish library service, and that's were I got my current problem. The streams are working fine (maybe some minor lagg), but I can't fast forward or jump directly to the place in the chapter were we stopped listening the time before. (this works without any problem in Windows MP). Each file(chapter) is ~50min, so if we stop listening like half an hour into the chapter it's a pain to "listen" 30minutes before we get to the point were we last logged out (fell asleep ;) )

Tech info:
The stream is a mms stream. ASF format.
Web browser is FF3.

I've tried and got working audio with: Gecko and Mplayer.
I've also tried VLC, it seems to work when i paste URL directly into the player, the file loads, it starts playing, I can fast forward but there is no sound. The VLC mozilla plugin dont work. Just says "No video" and not loading.

Really hope that someone can help me with this since i don't know were to look. Maybe its just some strings in a config file or some setting i have missed.

Regards

djRobbieF
August 29th, 2008, 07:46 PM
Please provide a url to one of these streams so I can test some theories and post you an actual working reply.

Cheers.

frewhy
August 29th, 2008, 08:01 PM
This should do it:
mms://212.112.169.73/ISBN9170024847/asf/Avsnitt01.asf

The last part "Avsnitt01.asf" translates to "Part01.asf" so you can change the last digits to try other chapters.

djRobbieF
August 29th, 2008, 08:20 PM
This should work for you:

1) Install Multimedia Codecs (See my thread here: http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=903573)