PDA

View Full Version : Unable to report posts?



drubin
August 26th, 2008, 05:52 PM
Hi

This has been happening alot more now (Mainly because I have taken more time to go through the forums). I do not have access to report any posts.

http://ubuntuforums.org/report.php?p=5667424 (This is valid) I was going to ask if it should be moved to testimonials?

When i click submit I get
URL: http://ubuntuforums.org/report.php?do=sendemail

rubinboy, you do not have permission to access this page. This could be due to one of several reasons:

1. Your user account may not have sufficient privileges to access this page. Are you trying to edit someone else's post, access administrative features or some other privileged system?
2. If you are trying to post, the administrator may have disabled your account, or it may be awaiting activation.

Log Out Home

At first when this started happening I just gathered I did not have permision to report on some forums now it happens on all of them. I asked on IRC #ubuntuforums-Beginners and they suggested it was not 100% and I should post here.

Thanks.

drubin
August 26th, 2008, 06:46 PM
Also not sure if this thread is just me or not
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=774074
I get a authorization error there as well.

Joeb454
August 26th, 2008, 06:48 PM
Also not sure if this thread is just me or not
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=774074
I get a authorization error there as well.

That's to be expected, there's some area's of the forum only staff can access :)

drubin
August 26th, 2008, 06:57 PM
It was accessed from http://ubuntuforums.org/group.php?groupid=265

I assumed the links were for all to see :) Thanks for the clarification.

Ps still have my original problem though.

Artificial Intelligence
August 26th, 2008, 06:58 PM
MOD Power FTW.

LaRoza
August 26th, 2008, 07:00 PM
MOD Power FTW.

For those interested, that link was just a link to a thread linking to one of the other threads.

drubin
August 26th, 2008, 07:00 PM
MOD Power FTW.

Does not answer my question. Also this has nothing to do with my post here. http://ubuntuforums.org/showpost.php?p=5668614&postcount=445 This is an issue from before then.

drubin
August 26th, 2008, 07:02 PM
For those interested, that link was just a link to a thread linking to one of the other threads.

Ye no big deal, but my account is acting up so I just wanted to put it out there to find out if it was personal or general link.

Ps I think You should remove that link from your public group it might cause other issues.

LaRoza
August 26th, 2008, 07:03 PM
Ye no big deal, but my account is acting up so I just wanted to put it out there to find out if it was personal or general link.

Ps I think You should remove that link from your public group it might cause other issues.

It was removed.

Artificial Intelligence
August 26th, 2008, 07:03 PM
Does not answer my question. Also this has nothing to do with my post here. http://ubuntuforums.org/showpost.php?p=5668614&postcount=445 This is an issue from before then.

no, just a funny statement :).... seems to fail miserable....

drubin
August 26th, 2008, 11:28 PM
http://ubuntuforums.org/report.php?p=5670337

another one I do not have access to report, Wanted to ask to move the post to programming talk

bapoumba
August 27th, 2008, 08:41 AM
http://ubuntuforums.org/report.php?p=5670337

another one I do not have access to report, Wanted to ask to move the post to programming talk

Please take a screenshot of the error page you get, and give a link to the thread (I can get to the report page with your link).

Will move this thread to FFH in a minute :)

mips
August 27th, 2008, 09:46 AM
I can confirm this error, happens to me a lot. Pressing back button on browser and then clicking report button again is a workaround to the problem.

drubin
August 27th, 2008, 09:56 AM
Please take a screenshot of the error page you get, and give a link to the thread (I can get to the report page with your link).

Will move this thread to FFH in a minute :)

You did not read my full post or did not understand it. I only get the error message when clicking the submit button, I have copied the relevant text. If you would like me to attach the html source code, and headers let me know.


When i click submit I get
URL: http://ubuntuforums.org/report.php?do=sendemail
[QUOTE]rubinboy, you do not have permission to access this page. This could be due to one of several reasons:

1. Your user account may not have sufficient privileges to access this page. Are you trying to edit someone else's post, access administrative features or some other privileged system?
2. If you are trying to post, the administrator may have disabled your account, or it may be awaiting activation.

Log Out Home

drubin
August 27th, 2008, 09:58 AM
I can confirm this error, happens to me a lot. Pressing back button on browser and then clicking report button again is a workaround to the problem.

This work around does not work for me. Could this be a cookie issue with South African proxies? I have experienced a similar issue with another international phpbb site. But then again that was only ONE site.

mips
August 27th, 2008, 10:04 AM
This work around does not work for me. Could this be a cookie issue with South African proxies? I have experienced a similar issue with another international phpbb site. But then again that was only ONE site.

Apologies, I just tried it again and I had the cat by the tail. I just tested it with your above post.

If I click the 'report button' I get the submission page and I can enter text. When I click the 'submit button' I get the permissions error, same as you. Pressing the browser back button and then clicking submit again allows me to submit the report.

I don't think it is a proxy thing to be honest.

drubin
August 27th, 2008, 10:23 AM
Apologies, I just tried it again and I had the cat by the tail. I just tested it with your above post.

If I click the 'report button' I get the submission page and I can enter text. When I click the 'submit button' I get the permissions error, same as you. Pressing the browser back button and then clicking submit again allows me to submit the report.

I don't think it is a proxy thing to be honest.

Great so it is just my account that can not submit reports.


Please take a screenshot of the error page you get, and give a link to the thread (I can get to the report page with your link).

Will move this thread to FFH in a minute :)

See attached zip file for ALL details, Page source headers, screen shots. (I have removed my cookie's from the headers as they contain a hash'ed version of my password.)

mips
August 27th, 2008, 12:10 PM
Great so it is just my account that can not submit reports.


On my first attempt I cannot post, I have to 'browser back button' and 'submit' again for it to work. Have you tried doing this?

drubin
August 27th, 2008, 12:14 PM
On my first attempt I cannot post, I have to 'browser back button' and 'submit' again for it to work. Have you tried doing this?

Like I have said before, I have tried this it doesn't work for me, I have tried pressing back button 3 times..

mips
August 27th, 2008, 12:47 PM
Like I have said before, I have tried this it doesn't work for me, I have tried pressing back button 3 times..

Ok

drubin
August 27th, 2008, 08:39 PM
I think this is best suited to an Admin answering it.

Joeb454
August 28th, 2008, 12:16 AM
The admin's will look here, I've added a tag just to make sure ;)

drubin
August 28th, 2008, 12:16 AM
Thanks.

drubin
August 30th, 2008, 11:08 PM
bump?

Any solutions to this issue. I once reported a post in the last 2 days but it required about 4 backs buttons...

bapoumba
August 30th, 2008, 11:13 PM
Reported to the admins, thanks for your patience :)

drubin
August 30th, 2008, 11:16 PM
Reported to the admins, thanks for your patience :)

I just think that unless my account is completely messed up, others might be having the same issue.

I can always post the link on IRC and let a mod deal with it.

bapoumba
August 31st, 2008, 10:26 AM
I just think that unless my account is completely messed up, others might be having the same issue.

I can always post the link on IRC and let a mod deal with it.

An admin had a look at your account and all is normal.. Not sure what is going on.

drubin
August 31st, 2008, 01:01 PM
An admin had a look at your account and all is normal.. Not sure what is going on.

Thanks for the reply. I am going to continue to experiment with this. Trying to work out what could be causing this issue.

Does it affect any thing if i report my own posts with the word "test" in it. Dont worry I will not over do it just if I have an idea about what it could be?

bapoumba
August 31st, 2008, 01:14 PM
Thanks for the reply. I am going to continue to experiment with this. Trying to work out what could be causing this issue.

Does it affect any thing if i report my own posts with the word "test" in it. Dont worry I will not over do it just if I have an idea about what it could be?

No, please test reporting my post, so that other mods will know you are experimenting. Just be aware that every time you report, another thread is created in the report section :)

drubin
August 31st, 2008, 01:19 PM
No, please test reporting my post, so that other mods will know you are experimenting. Just be aware that every time you report, another thread is created in the report section :)

I am aware that is why I asked before doing it, at the current momment I am out of idea's to test so there will not be any reporting for now. hehe

It just seems odd, because I have tried this on FF2,FF3,IE6,IE7, Windows Ubuntu(2 differnt pc's with 2 different ISP's)

Wait I have an idea. I have a remote Server in the USA I am going to login there and try from that on Monday.

I have a sneaky feeling something about SA proxying is dodge.

bapoumba
August 31st, 2008, 01:24 PM
I am aware that is why I asked before doing it, at the current momment I am out of idea's to test so there will not be any reporting for now. hehe

It just seems odd, because I have tried this on FF2,FF3,IE6,IE7, Windows Ubuntu(2 differnt pc's with 2 different ISP's)

Wait I have an idea. I have a remote Server in the USA I am going to login there and try from that on Monday.

I have a sneaky feeling something about SA proxying is dodge.
That would be a good test, as mips has the same issues.
I've suggested one of us be sent on a mission to South Africa to trouble check :)

drubin
August 31st, 2008, 01:29 PM
That would be a good test, as mips has the same issues.
I've suggested one of us be sent on a mission to South Africa to trouble check :)

I personally think the better option would be to send me some where else :)

Ps I have had a similar issue with a phpbb3 board I think it was hosted in Germany. Had issues logging in from SA. but that was completely logging in. Will investigate and if it is only from SA going to phone my ISP and there is going to be hell to pay.

mips
September 1st, 2008, 11:58 AM
I've suggested one of us be sent on a mission to South Africa to trouble check :)

Bonjour! Spring just started and the weather is great (not that we had a bad winter)! :)

drubin
September 1st, 2008, 12:09 PM
Bonjour! Spring just started and the weather is great (not that we had a bad winter)! :)

Are you joking what City do you live in?

mips
September 1st, 2008, 02:40 PM
Are you joking what City do you live in?

Somewhere next to the sea, http://maps.google.com/maps?f=q&hl=en&geocode=&q=Durban,+South+Africa&ie=UTF8&ll=-29.683877,31.070023&spn=0.449193,0.493011&t=h&z=11

We do not really have winters you can call cold, most of the time I walk around in baggies,t-shirt&slops. Occasionally I will wear longs and a light pullover of sorts. Even been surfing without a wetsuit, at most wore a long sleeve neoprene top, but thats mostly for blue bottles and jelly fish.

drubin
September 1st, 2008, 03:06 PM
Somewhere next to the sea, http://maps.google.com/maps?f=q&hl=en&geocode=&q=Durban,+South+Africa&ie=UTF8&ll=-29.683877,31.070023&spn=0.449193,0.493011&t=h&z=11

We do not really have winters you can call cold, most of the time I walk around in baggies,t-shirt&slops. Occasionally I will wear longs and a light pullover of sorts. Even been surfing without a wetsuit, at most wore a long sleeve neoprene top, but thats mostly for blue bottles and jelly fish.

That makes sense, CPT this week end was really the cape of storms.

btw I think we should take this to the loco forums?
http://za.ubuntuforums.org

mips
September 1st, 2008, 04:56 PM
That makes sense, CPT this week end was really the cape of storms.

btw I think we should take this to the loco forums?
http://za.ubuntuforums.org

I lived in CT for 2.5yrs and the winters there really sucked. I hated winter in that place.

Up to you, worth a try.

drubin
February 6th, 2009, 03:17 PM
I know this thread has come and gone ages ago! long time ago. :) but it was also a issue at the time (3 pages of it).

I just want to mention i changed jobs and clearly changed ISP and area and obviously my route to the UF's changed. That being said I no am fully able to report posts no "you do not have permission error". This just proves that there isn't something funky with the forum software or my account and rather SA ISP's are doing funky stuff with the requests.

It works :)

edit:
Since this no longer requires an admins attention, can some some please remove those tags.