PDA

View Full Version : Why do you prefer ubuntu over others?

StOoZ
August 24th, 2008, 10:19 PM
Why do you prefer ubuntu linux , over the other distributions?

I'll start : im quite new to linux (switched completely from windows to linux in march this year) , I was suggested to use ubuntu by my friend , so this is how its started.

what about you folks? :KS

Bachstelze
August 24th, 2008, 10:23 PM
Fast, simple, gets the job done.

The same could be said about a few others (Debian or Slackware, especially), but I like Ubuntu above them for its larger repositories.

youthforlinux
August 24th, 2008, 10:25 PM

The same could be said about a few others (Debian or Slackware, especially), but I like Ubuntu above them for its larger repositories.

Agreed. Totally no bloat, large amount of software available for free, and does what i want, when i want.

lzfy
August 24th, 2008, 10:33 PM
Indeed no bloat, great community, a lot of packages available and easy to use. That's the reason why I'm still using Kubuntu even though there are other distro's available which deliver better KDE experience.

SuperSonic4
August 24th, 2008, 10:34 PM
These forums and the vast community knowledge in general. I prefer KDE so I'm using Kubuntu plus I think Amarok is amazing

cardinals_fan
August 24th, 2008, 10:36 PM
I don't. I'm using Slackware until OpenSolaris matures enough for me to switch over.

I have serious difficulty with the claim that Ubuntu has no bloat. GNOME is bloat in my book :)

lukjad007
August 24th, 2008, 10:43 PM

+1
And also for the community and these forums. It really just makes you feel right at home.

Bachstelze
August 24th, 2008, 10:44 PM
I have serious difficulty with the claim that Ubuntu has no bloat. GNOME is bloat in my book :)

I don't use Gnome.

Hilipatti
August 24th, 2008, 10:48 PM
There isn't any great reason for me really, I don't care about the distro so much, but I do care about the following things: