PDA

View Full Version : Do you use Linux/Ubuntu in your job?

ICEcoffee
August 24th, 2008, 08:59 PM
Hi all

I have read many posts asking other if they have switched to Ubuntu/Linux fully, and other similar posts. But I'd like to know if there are any that use Ubuntu/Linux as part of their job/work.

I'm a web developer/project manager, and I use Ubuntu 80% of the time, but I do dual-boot into winXP to use video/flash editing and accounting software, because there isn't anything of the same standard/equivilent on Linux.

Swarms
August 24th, 2008, 09:13 PM
I get payed to study so I guess that is kind of work too. :P

Then yes.

freebeer
August 24th, 2008, 10:37 PM
Yup. I use Ubuntu in the back end as a file server and Primary Domain Controller (Samba). The desktop units are Windows boxes but on my machine I dual boot.

My long term goal is to migrate the desktops to Ubuntu but that may not be possible due to a couple of applications.

~LoKe
August 24th, 2008, 10:38 PM
UNIX should be a large portion of my job, but I doubt I'll ever see an Linux flavours.

lukjad007
August 24th, 2008, 10:40 PM
I use it for fixing computers and for school, so yes.

benny bronx
August 24th, 2008, 10:48 PM
I am in the legal field and use linux exclusively (Ubuntu/PCLinuxOS).

Northsider
August 24th, 2008, 11:03 PM
Nope, I use windows XP at work. I just wanted to try out a linux distro because I liked the oommunity and ideology behind it.

stmiller
August 24th, 2008, 11:16 PM
I use Redhat and CentOS for job. Mostly servers like DNS, mail, apache, etc. Wish my job used Linux desktops. That would rock...

ICEcoffee
August 25th, 2008, 02:13 PM
either I posted this on the wrong day and time, or only a handful of people use Linux/Ubuntu in their jobs???

I thought there would be thousands of you.

mellowd
August 25th, 2008, 02:14 PM
linux yes, ubuntu no

Ub1476
August 25th, 2008, 02:30 PM