PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Can't play DVD's?

WarpCon
August 24th, 2008, 05:29 PM
I can't get none of the players to play a dvd. I installed ubuntu friday night and im a complete noobe. I used to used unix and linix when all it was was a command line screen. But im stumped with this gui stuff. I tried totem first and it said it did'nt have the correct codec installed, so i went looking around and i think i installed the libdvdcss2 and some other packages correctly, but now when i start totem it pops up and then disappears. I tried mplayer, all it does is lock up. And gxine lockes the whole computer up. I have to pull the power cord to get it to go away when that happens. Or there any step by steps for a noobe to get totem up and running? I went to Medibuntu but it dont give step by step. It said Something about if i installed the whole library do this and that but it did'nt say where I could get the whole library. Any help would be thankfull.

bobnutfield
August 24th, 2008, 05:40 PM
If you don't already have Medibuntu repo installed, go here to get it:

https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Medibuntu

Read the howtos on that site and all multimedia issues should be solved. Much easier to install codec, etc. from this repo.

super.rad
August 24th, 2008, 06:07 PM
theres is another guide here http://ubuntuguide.org/wiki/Ubuntu:Hardy#Installing_DVD_Support plus loads of other useful guides for beginners

WarpCon
August 24th, 2008, 06:19 PM
Ok i went to medibuntu and installed w32codecs. When it finished the software update ballon poped up and said libdvdcss2 needed to be installed, so i installed that. Now totem will load the playlist but after a couple of seconds it still dissapears. Any idea's? Also, when i downloaded the package it said it wasnt part of a free library, did i download the wrong thing?

wolfen69
August 24th, 2008, 06:24 PM