PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] DELL Studio 1535 and Ubuntu 8.04

Skelas
August 22nd, 2008, 10:49 AM
Any experience using DELL Studio 1535 with Ubuntu?
(Notebook DELL Studio 1535 15.4" LED Backlight (1440x900) TFT, Core™2 Duo Mobile T9300 25GHz /800MHz, Intel PM965 Express, DVD±RW, LAN, Bluetooth /Gigabit Ethernet / /Wi-FiConsumer IR, ATI Mobility Radeon HD 3450 256MB, RAM 4096MB DDRII 667MHz(PC2-5300))

Especially comments on ATI Mobility Radeon HD 3450 compatibility with Ubuntu would be very appreciated.

Thanks

minni
August 26th, 2008, 08:13 PM
Dell Studio works great with Ubuntu 8.04 32bit

- Network with LAN and WLAN
- ATI Graphics Card including compiz and 3D
(Dual-Screen with HDMI)
- Bluetooth
- DVD burning
- Sound Card

The only thing I had no luck with until now is the IR remote.

heimo11656
August 31st, 2008, 12:14 AM
I had a bit of trouble with my ATI gfx card, but that was resolved.

What I'm really having trouble with is WiFi. I've been working on it (I'm a noob) for about 5 hours now. So far it just lights up and shows me the network, but it doesn't connect.

pelle.k
August 31st, 2008, 09:45 PM
Compiz working without any problems at all?! really? You can play videos and such without any workarounds etc?
Also, how about suspend/hibernate functionality? Does it resume cleanly every single time?
Oh, and what about media/Fn buttons? Do they all work, and if not, are they at least sending scancodes to the kernel?

Thankyou very much in advance for answering, because i'm really interested in these notebooks, but i'm sick and tired of paying in time to get everything working.

mrstimpson
September 22nd, 2008, 12:43 AM
how did you get the graphics card and wireless to work...?

please share

pah99
September 23rd, 2008, 03:22 PM