PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] 8.04 upgrade on Dell Inspiron 530

Janeleaper
August 20th, 2008, 06:47 PM
I have a Dell Inspiron 530 which I bought loaded with Gutsy 7.10.

I've been trying to upgrade it to Hardy 8.04. After a lot of hassles I've reached this point:

I can only boot up by going into the GRUB menu and choosing kernel 2.6.22-14. Even then it does not always boot and I have to go into 2.6.22-14 recovery mode.

Kernel 2.6.24-21 will not boot, even in recovery mode. I've tried recovery several times without success. I've also tried sudo dpkg --configure -a in terminal, and sudo apt -get update several times.

Reading the Dell Ubuntu wiki, I get the drift that I should probably switch to RAID from IDE in Bios, but I'm a noob and I don't know how to do this.

Can anyone help?

Janeleaper
August 20th, 2008, 07:05 PM
I'd like to add that if this is a problem with the Dell hardware or settings, then I'm not very impressed. My machine is only a month old and was sold to me with no documentation alerting me to the problem I'd have upgrading.

superm1
August 20th, 2008, 07:47 PM
It's a bug that is resolved in kernel 2.6.26. There are two workarounds (as indicated in the wiki).

1) Switch the mode from IDE to RAID in the BIOS
2) Add all_generic_ide to the boot parameters.

Janeleaper
August 20th, 2008, 07:49 PM
Thank you. But, I don't know how to do this. I went into the Dell menu (f2 from the Dell screen) but it did not give me this option, as far as I could see. I'm going to need more explicit instructions on what to do.

superm1
August 20th, 2008, 07:59 PM
I don't have a 530 in front of me, so I'll try to describe the second solution:

1) Hit ESC to open up the grub menu.
2) Highlight the first option and hit "E"
3) At the end of the second command line showing boot parameters add "all_generic_ide"
4) Boot

5) Edit /boot/grub/menu.lst
Look for a line similar to this:
# kopt=root=UUID=5db4588f-50e0-4d00-b073-82aaad496204 ro