PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] print to Shared laserjet connected to XP on windows domain.

Garmuar
August 19th, 2008, 04:55 PM
I am very new to Ubuntu Network administrations.

I have connected my first Ubuntu workstation to our microsoft network using Likewise-open. I joined it to the domain.
We use shared printers on the network.
I can see machines and file shares browsing the domain, but no printers.
Can someone point me in the right direction? What needs to happen to use a printer attached and shared on a xp machine on the domain?

Also, there appears to be a default smb server running on the ubuntu machine. When I open "places/network/windows networks" in the GUI, I see our windows domain, and a "MSHOME" domain listing the Ubuntu machine?

Shouldn't SMB have been joined to the MS domain also by Likewise-open?

guardsman85
August 20th, 2008, 08:24 PM
Have you tried the following?
Go to System -> Administration -> Printing
Select "New Printer"
Select "Windows printer via SAMBA" (it will show you an example of what to type)

As far as the workgroup/domain issue is concerned, could someone else chime in here? I'm not really familiar with likewise-open or adding Ubuntu to a Windows domain.

Garmuar
August 21st, 2008, 06:34 PM
When I try that, it can't find the printer. And when I browse, I can see every machine in the domain, but no shared printers under them on the list.

Is using a shared printer on an XP machine possible with out having some kind of linux drivers installed on the linux machine for that printer? When a microsoft PC connects to a network shared printer, the drivers get pushed down to the PC and installed automaticly.

I can see microsoft file/folder/drive shares on the network and access them , but no printers?