PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] How to Make Screen Res Higher?

gillilandboy
August 18th, 2008, 04:34 AM
I just installed Ubuntu on my HP and I am trying to figure out how to make my screen res 1440x900. Right now it only lets me set it as 800x600. I am very new to Linux so please don't hate on me :)

Thanks.

tuxxy
August 18th, 2008, 04:41 AM
Is that resolution what you would expect in windows? did you install the video drivers?

whats your video card model?

nkri
August 18th, 2008, 04:47 AM
First off, welcome to Ubuntu!

To change the resolution, open up a terminal (Applications>Accessories>Terminal) and type

gksu displayconfig-gtk

It will ask for your password. Type this in and hit enter.

In the first screen that pops up, there is a box for resolution; click it and select 1440x900.

Click OK. I believe at this point you need to either reboot the computer or restart X (Ctrl+Alt+Backspace).

Good luck!
-nkri

gillilandboy
August 18th, 2008, 04:50 AM
In Windows I always had 1440x900. Like I said I am very new to Linux and I have no idea how to install the video drivers. I have an Nvidia GeForce 7100.

overdrank
August 18th, 2008, 04:51 AM
Hi and welcome, moved :)

gillilandboy
August 18th, 2008, 05:40 AM
I downloaded the driver from the NVIDIA site and I was reading on how to install it and it says "Type "sh NVIDIA-Linux-x86-173.14.12-pkg1.run" to install the driver". I am guessing type that in to terminal? When I typed it in to terminal it said that it could not open the file so I don't know what else to try. I would really like to thank everyone for their help the Linux people are very nice :D

overdrank
August 18th, 2008, 05:48 AM