PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Rez changed to 640x480 and wont change back! "Screens and Graphics" wont load at all!

VitaminBB
August 14th, 2008, 03:02 AM
Ubuntu is sooooo not ready for prime time, god I wish I was a programmer.

Ok, tonight I decided to get the S-video function on this thing working, I went to "Screens and Graphics" under Applications -> Other and launched it, I selected the second screen and set it as an extended display etc etc and it worked! Here comes the screwed up part!

So I noticed the laptop display changed and when to change it to a useable resolution, I noticed that my options to change the resolution have been narrowed to ONE choice, 640x480, I can BARELY navigate using this, I also clicked on drivers and it was originaly selected as "nvidia" and I changed it to "Nvidia geforce series 6", that didnt help at all so I changed it back to "nvidia", anyway I figured maybe the problem was because the second display was activated and I disabled the second display and logged off, the resolution was still 640x480 and not giving me any option to change it.

I then get the idea that maybe all I need to do is reboot the computer all together and when it loads its still in the small resolution but this time I cant even load "Screens and Graphics", its still there and asks me for the admin password but then after saying "starting ..." in the taskbar it disappears!!!!!!??!?!??!?!

So then I go to "Screen Resolution" under System -> Preferences and it gives me only this one option and nothing else.

Im stuck!

Ive even tried using the startup manager to change the resolution (for some strange reason I can chose anothe resolution there) but when I load on a restart I get a message telling me the display isent acceptable and to please change it to the stupid 640x480 and then it forces me to load 640x480!!!!!

Ive read a bit about the Xorg file but no clue where to find it and frankly I dont want to go screwing with it unless im sure what it will do.