PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] [SOLVED] F drive data is missing

karthiknoble
August 12th, 2008, 03:35 AM
Hi I'm new to ubuntu. I have win xp on C and Ubuntu on F drive, but i'm not able to access the other data like photos and pics that i have stored in F. can anyone help me out ?

sonofusion82
August 12th, 2008, 03:55 AM
ok. it seems that you are trying to access photos and pics in ubuntu drive/partition from windows?
i believe there are some ext3 driver/software that can be used to access your ubuntu "F drive" . but i have not tried it myself.
if not you can probably copy the files from ubuntu to your wind xp C drive.

karthiknoble
August 12th, 2008, 03:58 AM
Nope ubuntu is not accessing any data in f drive it shows only three drives the fourth one (F drive) where i have loaded ubuntu is not displayed.

sonofusion82
August 12th, 2008, 04:04 AM
ok, you mean that you are using windows and you want too see the files in that ubuntu drive?

karthiknoble
August 12th, 2008, 06:30 AM
nope these data were stored in f drive before i loaded ubuntu. now when i switch on my system and choose to load ubuntu i'm unable to view these files in the ubuntu interface

lisati
August 12th, 2008, 06:34 AM
Hi I'm new to ubuntu. I have win xp on C and Ubuntu on F drive, but i'm not able to access the other data like photos and pics that i have stored in F. can anyone help me out ?

nope these data were stored in f drive before i loaded ubuntu. now when i switch on my system and choose to load ubuntu i'm unable to view these files in the ubuntu interface

If I've understood you properly, the photos etc, were previously on F:, and now Ubuntu is on the drive. If this is the case, there's a good chance that your photos etc. are no longer there.

Please run
sudo fdisk -l so we can have a better idea of how the disks on your computer are organized.

karthiknoble
August 12th, 2008, 06:38 AM