PDA

View Full Version : [all variants] How do I get to see the other drive?



mark.tj
August 12th, 2008, 12:21 AM
Just installed Ubuntu Server 8.04 onto a system with 2 identical ATA hard drives. From my Windows workstations I can only see the one drive 270gb (it is a 300gb drive but I assume Ubuntu takes up some of the room) But cannot see the other 300gb???

I have tried re-installing 4-5 times with different options but all with the same result. Is my Windows system lying to me? (wouldn't be the first time) or am I doing something stupid? The install process sees both drives as does Ubuntu now, so how can I use the extra space from the workstation, I want it to store Video so need all the room I can get.

Really pulling my hair out with this one so any help would be very much appreciated.

halitech
August 12th, 2008, 12:27 AM
when you installed, did you tell Ubuntu to use 1 complete drive?

ntu
August 12th, 2008, 12:27 AM
In my Feisty I go Places>Computer and all the partition icons are sitting there.

mark.tj
August 12th, 2008, 08:31 AM
I tried all options when installing including one complete drive, the current install was done manually for each drive using the auto option to decide the partition sizing.
As for viewing the drive in something like "My Computer", I have no GUI in the server version so I am using WIndows from another machine to view the server and it can only see 270mb which is what is confusing me.

hyper_ch
August 12th, 2008, 09:36 AM
Post the output of:


sudo fdisk -l

mark.tj
August 12th, 2008, 09:45 AM
Just looked at /etc/fstab and it only mentions one of the drives, reads as follows;

proc /proc proc defaults 0 0

;/dev/sdb1
UUID= 296b9e21-84e7-4396-95ad-ce3cb711f156/ ext3 relatime erro$
;/dev/sdb5
UUID= eccd537f-d324-4187-b685-969ef0d4de99 none swap sw $

My drive ID's are /dev/sda and /dev/sdb

Anyone know how /etc/fstb should read? and would simply changing this work, the drive should already be formatted for the system to be able to see it.

mark.tj
August 12th, 2008, 09:58 AM
OK fdisk -l dump as follows, (have to hand key as this is all on another machine so I missed out the stuff about the disk sizes etc)

/dev/sda

device boot start end blocks id system
/dev/sda1 * 1 36296 291547588+ 83 linux
sda2 36297 36483 1502077+ 5 extended
sda5 36297 36483 1502046 82 linuxswap/ solaris

/dev/sdb

device boot start end blocks id system
/dev/sdb1 1 36296 291547588+ 83 linux
sdb2 36297 36483 1502077+ 5 extended
sdb5 36297 36483 1502046 82 linuxswap/ solaris

Is this enough info?

hyper_ch
August 12th, 2008, 10:10 AM
it helps very much to the readability if you enclose terminal output and file contents in
brackets.

dentharg
August 12th, 2008, 10:13 AM
Everything looks pretty good. You see 270GB since the /dev/sda1 is ca. 270GB (291547588 / (1024 * 1024) = 278.xxxx).

If you have mounted partitions of just one drive how would you like to see the other? Mount them and share via samba or so.

mark.tj
August 12th, 2008, 10:15 AM
/dev/sda

device boot start end blocks id system
/dev/sda1 * 1 36296 291547588+ 83 linux
sda2 36297 36483 1502077+ 5 extended
sda5 36297 36483 1502046 82 linuxswap/ solaris

/dev/sdb

device boot start end blocks id system
/dev/sdb1 1 36296 291547588+ 83 linux
sdb2 36297 36483 1502077+ 5 extended
sdb5 36297 36483 1502046 82 linuxswap/ solaris

hyper_ch
August 12th, 2008, 10:16 AM
well, taking the previous posting and putting it in code tags does not add to the readability as the multiple spaces / tabs have already been filtered.

mark.tj
August 12th, 2008, 10:17 AM
Thanks for that, should I use /etc/fstab to mount the drive tho?

Sorry about the code but I am having to re-key not cut and paste

hyper_ch
August 12th, 2008, 10:19 AM
Sorry about the code but I am having to re-key not cut and paste
Just telling you that because you need to "help" people that try to "help" you ;)

mark.tj
August 12th, 2008, 10:27 AM
Thanks I am very enthusiastic but very much an amateur in this area so any help is very much appreciated.

dentharg
August 12th, 2008, 10:37 AM
First: how do you browse drives on Windows? Samba?

Mount the drive by hand first (mount -t auto /dev/sda1 /mnt/some_dir) and share the some_dir in Samba.

mark.tj
August 12th, 2008, 11:38 AM
Thanks for helping me, I just use Windows explorer to browse files on the server as it is only used like an external hard drive at the moment although I hope to expand its use so I can access over the Internet later. My main computer is Vista we also have a number of XP systems in the house (2 teenage kids, laptops etc)

Tried the command mount -t auto /dev/sda1 /mnt/some_dir
but get the response "mount point /mnt/some_dir does not exist" DO I need to create something in samba first?

Sorry but I really am a newbie here and may not get something that is obvious to everyone else

hyper_ch
August 12th, 2008, 11:51 AM
first you have to create the directory into which you want to mount something:


sudo mkdir /mnt/some_dir

mark.tj
August 12th, 2008, 12:23 PM
Directory created and mounted but not sure how to share in samba

hyper_ch
August 12th, 2008, 12:28 PM
open nautilius, then right-click the folder and then you should be able to share it... (I think)... not done gui-sharing for a long time. Also make sure that you have permissions on that folder to share it.

mark.tj
August 13th, 2008, 01:05 AM
All sorted and sussed thanks