PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Partitioning help ?

Badoxide
August 11th, 2008, 11:47 PM
Hello,Everyone

This is my first time here, and also using Ubuntu its ver8.04.1, I have to say I think I am going to love it. The only problem well not really a problem more like not knowing what would be the best way to Partition the 250Gb hard-drive to use Ubuntu.

Here's how I would like to set it up.

/
Home
Swap = 1000Mb
A backup if this can be done.

Well I think you get the idea. I am just not sure how much space to use, for each Partition. Please any help at all with this. Hm now that I think of it. Were would I install ubuntu after Partitioning? more or less like windows up to me.

Thank you

Badoxide

SunnyRabbiera
August 11th, 2008, 11:55 PM
Well its mostly possible but the thing is that there is a limit of four partitions per hard drive, plus if you are dual booting windows matters are made more difficult.
If you dual boot with windows, I would have a root partition, a home partition and swap and get a external hard drive or something for backup.

Riffer
August 12th, 2008, 12:01 AM
I'm not quite sure what you're asking. Are you trying to dual boot? Are you also trying to setup a separate partition for your home folder?

Having said that, gparted is a great partitioning tool. Also I believe that the install will look after the swap partition.

Badoxide
August 12th, 2008, 12:13 AM
Wow that was fast ;)

OK I have a laptop with a 250Gb HD it has 2Gb of Ram. I would like if I can not use an external hard. What I am trying to get help with is how much space would you give, for the root partition that I will install ubuntu on. Then the same question, for home partition and swap. With so much space on this HD I have no idea how to go about this.

In windows I would have no problem doing this.

@ Both of you I thank you.

Badoxide

starcannon
August 12th, 2008, 12:29 AM
10gb for /
2gb for swap
Remainder to /home

that should be fine.

ntu
August 12th, 2008, 12:34 AM