PDA

View Full Version : [all variants] cant mount cd's



Existance0
August 11th, 2008, 10:55 PM
sudo mount /media/cdrom0/ -o unhide
[sudo] password for arie:
mount: No medium found

alienexplorers
August 11th, 2008, 10:58 PM
Try:

sudo mount /dev/scd0 /media/cdrom0

Existance0
August 11th, 2008, 11:02 PM
sudo mount /dev/scd0 /media/cdrom0
[sudo] password for arie:
mount: special device /dev/scd0 does not exist


I think its only dvd's now I put a cd in and it ran fine but dvd's dont.

JohnMac
August 12th, 2008, 11:08 AM
What did you do?
I get the "no media" message and nothing I do can change it!!

bumanie
August 12th, 2008, 01:08 PM
Check /etc/fstab to ensure the device has a mount point. Post output of
cat /etc/fstab

aimpau
August 12th, 2008, 01:14 PM
Is this a laptop wherein you have to connect your CD drive?

Existance0
August 12th, 2008, 03:22 PM
Check /etc/fstab to ensure the device has a mount point. Post output of

# /etc/fstab: static file system information.
#
# <file system> <mount point> <type> <options> <dump> <pass>
proc /proc proc defaults 0 0
# /dev/sda1
UUID=692c3bc6-d3db-4bc7-a737-c6bf35eebd71 / ext3 relatime,errors=remount-ro 0 1
# /dev/sda2
UUID=6f9f5d76-f8f3-46ac-ae28-fd41e77e47bf none swap sw 0 0
/dev/hda /media/cdrom0 udf,iso9660 user,noauto,exec,utf8 0 0
/dev/fd0 /media/floppy0 auto rw,user,noauto,exec,utf8 0 0


Is this a laptop wherein you have to connect your CD drive?

No its a desktop.

bumanie
August 12th, 2008, 04:37 PM
There is a mount point for the cd-rom drive, however it is not /dev/scd0 as you tried mounting it is
/dev/hda /media/cdrom0

Existance0
August 12th, 2008, 05:26 PM
sudo mount /dev/hda /media/cdrom0
mount: No medium found

Existance0
August 12th, 2008, 06:30 PM
:(

bumanie
August 12th, 2008, 06:53 PM
/etc/fstab looks as though the drive is mounted correctly, I can't understand why it doesn't see the media. You say it works with cd's but not dvd's
I think its only dvd's now I put a cd in and it ran fine but dvd's dont.Logically, it would seem that the drive is at fault. It is mounted correctly, it plays cd's OK, but not dvd's - maybe the laser has seen better days. The 'pits' that are read on a dvd are much smaller and spaced closer than on a cd, hence the 6x + extra capacity on a dvd. Lasers do fail sometimes. You could brrow a dvd-rom from from a friend and see if that works - if it does it would virtually prove your drive has seen better days - you would have to make a directory/mount point to mount the borrowed drive to.

JohnMac
August 17th, 2008, 10:36 AM
You make anything of this:

# /etc/fstab: static file system information.
#
# <file system> <mount point> <type> <options> <dump> <pass>
proc /proc proc defaults 0 0
# /dev/sda1
UUID=798f91d4-a724-48f4-879d-340f6e5d635c / ext3 relatime,errors=remount-ro 0 1
# /dev/sda5
UUID=2e059f74-802c-4490-9d79-18b885b3faa0 none swap sw 0 0
/dev/scd1 /media/cdrom0 udf,iso9660 user,noauto,exec,utf8 0 0
/dev/scd0 /media/cdrom1 udf,iso9660 user,noauto,exec,utf8 0 0
/dev/fd0 /media/floppy0 auto rw,user,noauto,exec,utf8 0 0
john@john-desktop:~$