PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Multiple Instances..



wannapiece
August 11th, 2008, 10:01 PM
Hello all, I am a new user to Ubuntu Hardy via Wubi and so far I love it. I just get everything updated and wifi working on my laptop which I thought wouldn't be able to happen, so now I want to "make the switch"

I do however have one very important question... How do I allow multiple instance of a program?

I am running SecondLife and usually run 2 clients simultaniously for beta testing, in windows to allow multiple instances of a program you add "-multiple" on the end of the target path, however I do not know how to do that yet in Ubuntu.

I would greatly appreciate anyone that could help me on this matter, thank you!

loboc
August 11th, 2008, 10:02 PM
stupid question:
have you tried just running it twice

secondlife&

secondlife&

wannapiece
August 11th, 2008, 10:07 PM
This is what I get when I attempt to run the program twice


Second Life is already running.

Check your task bar for a minimized copy of the program.
If this message persists, restart your computer.

wannapiece
August 11th, 2008, 11:17 PM
Okay I found on support wiki on Secondlife to do this...


Linux

1. Find the file gridargs.dat in the Second Life installation directory
2. Edit the file and add '-multiple'

I can't open the .dat file because it is set to a group and owner of 1052 in my usr/share/games/SecondLife

I've tried copying the file to desktop to try and replace it, but I'm going to try to uninstall (originally installed with .deb) and reinstall in another location...

Dylock
August 11th, 2008, 11:26 PM
Woah there dont reinstall. You just need to use sudo when you edit the file.

Open up a terminal and type
gksudo gedit /usr/share/games/SecondLife/gridargs.dat

Make your changes and then save.

wannapiece
August 12th, 2008, 12:00 AM
Awesome, Thank you Dylock

I was sketchy about what to do because the file specified was blank, I wasn't sure if it was a read error or something else.

I just typed in -multiple in the empty .dat file and now I have multiple client goodness!

Thx so much for your help