PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] WLAN problem



mormor
August 11th, 2008, 04:30 PM
By using the password suplied to me by my landlord I manage to connect to the network at full signal strenght, but it does not give me a internet connection.

Any hints, tips or pointers will be greatly apriciated.

Betziana
August 11th, 2008, 04:34 PM
It doesn't give you any kind of connection? Did you try it with anything else but browser?

Do you perhaps run the same connection on different operating system? How does it work then?

Make sure when connecting that the password type is right. (eg. ASCII or WEP)

mormor
August 11th, 2008, 04:41 PM
It doesn't give you any kind of connection? Did you try it with anything else but browser?

Do you perhaps run the same connection on different operating system? How does it work then?

Make sure when connecting that the password type is right. (eg. ASCII or WEP)

1: wireless connection to 'mbrandt' (80%)

Neither emesene nor firefox, nor pinging works.

2: I have only ubuntu.

3: well, if I manage to connect to the network, the pass must be right, right?

Betziana
August 11th, 2008, 04:44 PM
Yeah I guess.

If you can only connect to your wireless router box, I think your network server is down. (if nothing works I wonder how you post stuff here.)

When you enable wireless networking it should show all router boxes it can detect. Are you sure it's the right box? How do you connect to your wireless? Antenna? Stick?

halitech
August 11th, 2008, 04:45 PM
open a terminal and type in
ifconfig to see what the connection has for an IP address. Could be you are connected but not authorized properly

Java Geek
August 11th, 2008, 04:52 PM
My router does the same thing from 11 until 3. Its because i have it set to send no signal at certain times. Ask your Administrator if any specific times, sites,... are naturally blocked

mormor
August 11th, 2008, 05:10 PM
Yeah I guess.

If you can only connect to your wireless router box, I think your network server is down. (if nothing works I wonder how you post stuff here.)

When you enable wireless networking it should show all router boxes it can detect. Are you sure it's the right box? How do you connect to your wireless? Antenna? Stick?

I do have a backup solution with hdspa-connection, but its not ment to be my pri connection.
I connect through a wlancard in my laptop. ANd Yes, I see other routers, but I only have the password for one, as the other ones are also paswordprotected. And wouldnt it be a strange coincident if the entire neighbourhood used the same key for theyre wlan? I think I got the rigth box, also considering it carries the name of my landlord.


Re: WLAN problem
open a terminal and type in
Code:

ifconfig

to see what the connection has for an IP address. Could be you are connected but not authorized properly

marius@tobor:~$ ifconfig

eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:1b:24:37:af:d4
UP BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)
Interrupt:17

lo Link encap:Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
RX packets:2671 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:2671 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:135972 (132.7 KB) TX bytes:135972 (132.7 KB)

wlan0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:19:d2:28:6c:bc
inet addr:192.168.1.103 Bcast:192.168.1.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
inet6 addr: fe80::219:d2ff:fe28:6cbc/64 Scope:Link
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:624 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:604 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:233480 (228.0 KB) TX bytes:102406 (100.0 KB)

wmaster0 Link encap:UNSPEC HWaddr 00-19-D2-28-6C-BC-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)


I cant work anything out of that. Here is a screen that might tell you smething. : )
http://www.b3ta.cr3ation.co.uk/data/png/1230.screenshot1.png

mormor
August 11th, 2008, 05:47 PM
iwconfig gives me:

wlan0 IEEE 802.11g ESSID:"mbrandt" Nickname:""
Mode:Managed Frequency:2.472 GHz Access Point: 00:13:10:1F:41:D7
Bit Rate=54 Mb/s Tx-Power=15 dBm
Retry min limit:7 RTS thr:off Fragment thr=2346 B
Power Management:off
Link Quality=89/100 Signal level=-43 dBm Noise level=-80 dBm
Rx invalid nwid:0 Rx invalid crypt:0 Rx invalid frag:0
Tx excessive retries:0 Invalid misc:0 Missed beacon:0

halitech
August 11th, 2008, 10:03 PM
you have a valid IP address

wlan0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:19:d2:28:6c:bc
inet addr:192.168.1.103 Bcast:192.168.1.255 Mask:255.255.255.0

open a terminal and type
ping 192.168.1.1 and
ping www.google.ca