PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Please help new user!

thedude2008
August 11th, 2008, 02:46 PM
I'm a new user, having installed ubuntu after windows crashed. I have been trying to configure a VPN.I followed the instructions but no connection-what am I doing wrong?

Also as there are many things I can't do on ubuntu which I used to do on Windows, is there a way of getting Windows back on my computer without killing ubuntu?

Many thanks

Bölvağur
August 11th, 2008, 02:49 PM
Well because Im in such a good mood for doing complete reinstallations... would you consider doing one? It is possible to install windows but because windows isn't very friendly to other OSes perhaps a reinsatllation might be acceptable if you have no data or big collection of programs installed.

hyper_ch
August 11th, 2008, 02:51 PM
It is adviced to use a descriptive topic title, that means a topic title that gives some clue about the content in the thread itself...

A generic topic title like "noob here" or "need help" does not help at all. As you may have noticed, just about everyone posting in here has some kind of a problem or issue or question ;)

Vishal Agarwal
August 11th, 2008, 02:55 PM
Installing Windows will overwrite the boot section at HDD, and u will need to install grub boot loader again to recover the UBUNTU.

Perhaps it should be there and not over written by windows.

ByteJuggler
August 11th, 2008, 02:58 PM
I'm a new user, having installed ubuntu after windows crashed. I have been trying to configure a VPN.I followed the instructions but no connection-what am I doing wrong?

Also as there are many things I can't do on ubuntu which I used to do on Windows, is there a way of getting Windows back on my computer without killing ubuntu?

Many thanks