PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Network connection -- Internet doesn't work



twschmitt2001
August 10th, 2008, 10:25 PM
I'm sure this is a common problem, this is the second computer I have installed Ubuntu 8.04 on and the only one which has had this error.

I have installed Ubuntu 8.04, it seems to connect to the network, either LAN or Wireless. but when I go to Firefox is says it cannot connect to the server.

That's really all I know, would anyone that has had this happen please inform me of a step by step way to make internet work; otherwise I will sadly miss downloading important episodes of Lost.


Since I am not only a beginner at linux but also completely naive at Networking lingo; please try to explain in as simple english as possible.


PS: I have also added this Smilie to help illustrate my frustration:mad::mad::mad:.

Thanks

Crafty Kisses
August 10th, 2008, 10:28 PM
With the wireless portion you may be interested in this < https://help.ubuntu.com/community/WifiDocs/Driver/Ndiswrapper

Basically for the wired and wireless portion, try "pinging" a website, so what you want to do is open "Terminal" and type the following:

ping www.google.com
See what happens, and post the results on the forum.

halitech
August 10th, 2008, 10:39 PM
Hello,

you say it seems to be connecting on the wired and wireless connections, what leads you to believe you are connected?

Do you know your IP address? in a terminal type this then copy and paste the info back here.

ifconfig
for the wireless, try
iwconfig

twschmitt2001
August 11th, 2008, 01:46 AM
Responds to "Codename":

I just tried and it says: "ping unknown host www.google.com"


Responds to "halitech"


tim@Traptooly:~$ ifconfig
ath0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:11:f5:d6:c1:41
inet6 addr: fe80::211:f5ff:fed6:c141/64 Scope:Link
UP BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)

ath0:avahi Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:11:f5:d6:c1:41
inet addr:169.254.8.199 Bcast:169.254.255.255 Mask:255.255.0.0
UP BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1

eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:0f:b0:da:de:9f
inet addr:192.168.0.102 Bcast:192.168.0.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
inet6 addr: fe80::20f:b0ff:feda:de9f/64 Scope:Link
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:8565 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:101 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:2625538 (2.5 MB) TX bytes:11885 (11.6 KB)
Interrupt:19 Base address:0xa000

lo Link encap:Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
RX packets:1482 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:1482 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:77628 (75.8 KB) TX bytes:77628 (75.8 KB)

wifi0 Link encap:UNSPEC HWaddr 00-11-F5-D6-C1-41-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:179 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:106
TX packets:22448 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:199
RX bytes:14612 (14.2 KB) TX bytes:1032608 (1008.4 KB)
Interrupt:21




tim@Traptooly:~$ iwconfig
lo no wireless extensions.

eth0 no wireless extensions.

wifi0 no wireless extensions.

ath0 IEEE 802.11g ESSID:"" Nickname:""
Mode:Managed Frequency:2.427 GHz Access Point: Not-Associated
Bit Rate:0 kb/s Tx-Power:16 dBm Sensitivity=1/1
Retry:off RTS thr:off Fragment thr:off
Power Management:off
Link Quality=0/70 Signal level=-95 dBm Noise level=-95 dBm
Rx invalid nwid:149 Rx invalid crypt:0 Rx invalid frag:0
Tx excessive retries:0 Invalid misc:0 Missed beacon:0




Thanks For your help.
TS

tinker312
August 11th, 2008, 01:53 AM
What type of internet connection to do you have? Are you hooked up through a router or directly to the modem? If your hooked up to a router powercycle it . . . you may need to establish a pppoe connection in Ubuntu if you use DSL. Also check your network cables and make sure they are snapped in place, I use old ones with the clips broken and sometimes they slip out :) If it is something simple like that then you will get your Lost fix real quick :)

twschmitt2001
August 11th, 2008, 06:10 AM
Hi have a dsl/cable internet connection. I have a wireless router but I have also tried hooking up to the cable modem directly.

Can you please tell me what you mean by "powercycle" the router?

Thanks

tinker312
August 11th, 2008, 06:28 AM
Powercycle just means to disconnect the router from it's power source, wait a few seconds, then plug it back in. You could try to powercycle your modem also. You have to be specific whether it is a cable or dsl service because there is difference.

Crafty Kisses
August 11th, 2008, 06:58 AM
Not sure what type of IP address you have, but you may have to manually enter your information when you create your new connection.

halitech
August 11th, 2008, 01:07 PM
Responds to "halitech"


tim@Traptooly:~$ ifconfig
ath0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:11:f5:d6:c1:41
inet6 addr: fe80::211:f5ff:fed6:c141/64 Scope:Link
UP BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)

ath0:avahi Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:11:f5:d6:c1:41
inet addr:169.254.8.199 Bcast:169.254.255.255 Mask:255.255.0.0
UP BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1

eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:0f:b0:da:de:9f
inet addr:192.168.0.102 Bcast:192.168.0.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
inet6 addr: fe80::20f:b0ff:feda:de9f/64 Scope:Link
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:8565 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:101 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:2625538 (2.5 MB) TX bytes:11885 (11.6 KB)
Interrupt:19 Base address:0xa000

by the looks of this, your wireless is not connecting but you have a wired connection that looks like it is fine. Did you do this on the computer having troubles or the one thats working?


tim@Traptooly:~$ iwconfig
lo no wireless extensions.

eth0 no wireless extensions.

wifi0 no wireless extensions.

ath0 IEEE 802.11g ESSID:"" Nickname:""
Mode:Managed Frequency:2.427 GHz Access Point: Not-Associated
Bit Rate:0 kb/s Tx-Power:16 dBm Sensitivity=1/1
Retry:off RTS thr:off Fragment thr:off
Power Management:off
Link Quality=0/70 Signal level=-95 dBm Noise level=-95 dBm
Rx invalid nwid:149 Rx invalid crypt:0 Rx invalid frag:0
Tx excessive retries:0 Invalid misc:0 Missed beacon:0


based on this, the wireless is seeing your connection but is not making the connection. Do you have WEP/WPA/WPA2 or any other security on the router running? If you do, try turning it off and see if you can get it to connect.