PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Error on installing modem driver

PaulNKS
August 6th, 2008, 05:41 PM
I hope I'm posting in the correct place. I am new to Ubuntu and linux. I installed as a dual boot and everything works great except the modem. I downloaded the driver for my modem from linuxant. The modem is an AC 97 soft modem. The following is what I get when I try to install the driver.

paul@My-Laptop:~$ tar -xzf hsfmodem-7.68.00.12x86_64full.tar.gz
paul@My-Laptop:~$ cd hsfmodem-7.68.00.12x86_64full
paul@My-Laptop:~/hsfmodem-7.68.00.12x86_64full$ make install
makefile:150: If you cannot run make as root and the rpm creation fails with
makefile:151: a Permission denied error, try adding the line:
makefile:152: %_topdir /home/paul/hsfmodem-7.68.00.12x86_64full/packages
makefile:153: to your ~/.rpmmacros file, and creating under packages
makefile:154: the BUILD/ RPMS/ SPECS/ SRPMS/ subdirectories.
make[1]: Entering directory `/home/paul/hsfmodem-7.68.00.12x86_64full/nvm'
mkdir -m 755 -p /etc/hsfmodem/nvm
mkdir: cannot create directory `/etc/hsfmodem': Permission denied
make[1]: *** [/etc/hsfmodem/nvm] Error 1
make[1]: Leaving directory `/home/paul/hsfmodem-7.68.00.12x86_64full/nvm'
make: *** [install] Error 2
paul@My-Laptop:~/hsfmodem-7.68.00.12x86_64full$

I am lost and I don't know what it is actually telling me to do or how I need to do it. I am the owner and have the only user "paul" setup as admin, but it continues to give me this error.

Thank you in advance for your help,
Paul

pytheas22
August 6th, 2008, 08:44 PM
"make install" usually requires root privileges (although I'm not quite sure what's going on here or why it's talking about building an RPM), so run:

sudo make install

instead.