View Full Version : [kubuntu] [SOLVED] Configuring Folder Sharing

August 6th, 2008, 01:57 AM
Using Kubuntu 8.04 KDE4 Remix on a fresh install, I've been trying to get folder sharing working and failing miserably. Viewing other folder shares works, but I'm having trouble sharing my own folders. after getting to the share tab in the folder properties and clicking on "Configure File Sharing..." I'm given a pop-up box, Title bar: "Error - KdeSudo" Dialog: "Command not found!". After looking around these forums and a good Google search I've installed samba but that hasn't seemed to change much, and the little advice I've found seems rather complicated.

If any more information is required of me I'm able to give it, though bear in mind that I'm a Kubuntu newbie (short of a brief spell a few years ago), my only real prior knowledge of Linux is Xandros on the EEEpc.

Linux Lurker
August 7th, 2008, 05:41 PM
First point - I do NOT know what I'm doing.

But, I thought I'd post what I discovered while experiencing this same problem.

I have a Kubuntu 4 installation over the top of my KDE3. Despite not using the KDE4, I have been using that version of Dolphin for file browsing.
On the off chance this was causing the error, I opened up the KDE3 version of Dolphin and right clicked properties to access the file sharing tab.
I haven't configured my stuff yet. But I'm happy to report that accessing it this way opens up the "configure file sharing" dialog box the way it's supposed to.

Hope that helps.

August 7th, 2008, 11:17 PM
Thanks, I installed d3lphin and tried configuring file sharing. No error message came up but not much else came up either. However, I opened d3lphin with the terminal, which reported the following message:

kcmshell (kdelibs): WARNING: Could not find module 'fileshare'.

I tried opening up Dolphin (KDE4) with the terminal open to see if any hidden messages came up for that. After clicking the "command not found" dialog box, the terminal reported: