PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] How Do You Unblacklist A Driver

super_nerd
August 4th, 2008, 06:54 AM
Hi,
I just swichted over from Windows to Ubuntu last week[and am a complete noob to linux and most things beyond basic computer using]. Unfortunately at the time I didn't know that there weren't any drivers for the wireless USB network card I was using at the time so I did some research and, after some difficulty, managed to installed ndiswrapper the right Windows driver but for some reason could not get the driver to realize the hardware was on my computer and to use the network card with that driver. The point of all this is that when I was in the process of doing the above I read somwhere that I should blacklist all my other network card drivers so they don't interfere with my Windows driver(I did this by typing some wierd command that I don't remember or understand, but it repeated the same thing for each of the drivers I blacklisted and had the word modprobe, I think). However I recently got an RTL8151 pci card from a friend for cheap and put that in on my motherboard(I know it's in right becuase I can find it using the command lspci) however becuase all my drivers are blacklisted I can't use my new card, which I think has a Linux driver. Can someone please tell me either:

a)how to unblacklist the driver I need for my RTL8151 pci card
b)where to get a driver for the pci card that will work(I have Hardy Heron)
c)how to get my windows driver for my usb card to use the card
d)if there is some other solution
e)all of the above

I apologize if this is a stupid question, I am unclear/inarticulate, or the solution is really obvious and it is idioticly stupid that I haven't figuerd it out yet, but I am only fourteen and still getting over the learning curve of Ubuntu.

If anyone has any answers or advice I would greatly appreciate it.

Thanks,
super_nerd(mabye it should be super_noob instead)

cariboo907
August 4th, 2008, 07:57 AM