PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] file extension help

steve228
August 1st, 2008, 09:58 PM
Im new to ubuntu and need help getting a program to work. I have a program I am trying to use as a default when I download a file from the internet. For example, I use Azureus and want to open a torrent with it, but I cannot find it when i search for it. I am used to windows and its executable files (.exe)... What file extension can I look for or how can I get azureus to be the default torrent program through the "open with" dialog?

bks
August 1st, 2008, 10:16 PM
The torrent files themselves should be a *.torrent, I believe.

mikewhatever
August 1st, 2008, 10:19 PM
Executables in Ubuntu don't really have an extension. If you installed Azureus from Synaptic, the executable should be /usr/bin/azureus. To make sure torrent files get opened with Azureus, right click on a torrent file, Open with tab, and add the above path.

Edit: Double post!
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=877339

bks
August 1st, 2008, 10:24 PM
[...]how can I get azureus to be the default torrent program through the "open with" dialog?

I'm not in front of my Ubuntu computer right now, but under System > Preferences there should be a Default Applications (may be called something slightly different) selection. From there you can set all your favorite applications to handle different actions.

kostkon
August 2nd, 2008, 12:15 AM
Im new to ubuntu and need help getting a program to work. I have a program I am trying to use as a default when I download a file from the internet. For example, I use Azureus and want to open a torrent with it, but I cannot find it when i search for it. I am used to windows and its executable files (.exe)... What file extension can I look for or how can I get azureus to be the default torrent program through the "open with" dialog?