PDA

View Full Version : If I can do x86, will I be able to do PPC?

aysiu
November 9th, 2005, 12:07 AM
There are very few people I know who express any interest in having Ubuntu installed on their computers. Someone from work has an old Mac (I think it's a G3 iBook... maybe even earlier) that she's thinking about putting Ubuntu on.

I'm still a newbie of sorts, but I'm proficient enough that I'm confident I can install Ubuntu on just about any x86 computer (with the help of these forums, of course) that's Linux-compatible. However, will that knowledge translate well to PPC installations?

I know there's Yaboot instead of Grub, but how many other things will catch me off guard? It still uses repositories and such, right? sudo? apt-get? All that jazz?

xequence
November 9th, 2005, 01:31 AM
Youve been saying youre a newbie since your 500th post, when I joined these forums. Don't you think youre past newbie status? ;) Anyway, I am pretty sure it will be the same. I have no experience but the only other thing I can think of is you might not have as much of a choice of packages from the repos. Just a wild guess ;)

Anyway, good luck. Take the PPC world by storm, aysiu.

poofyhairguy
November 9th, 2005, 02:00 AM
There are very few people I know who express any interest in having Ubuntu installed on their computers. Someone from work has an old Mac (I think it's a G3 iBook... maybe even earlier) that she's thinking about putting Ubuntu on.

I'm still a newbie of sorts, but I'm proficient enough that I'm confident I can install Ubuntu on just about any x86 computer (with the help of these forums, of course) that's Linux-compatible. However, will that knowledge translate well to PPC installations?

I know there's Yaboot instead of Grub, but how many other things will catch me off guard? It still uses repositories and such, right? sudo? apt-get? All that jazz?

I have personal experiance to go on, so I'll try my best to give advice.