PDA

View Full Version : [kubuntu] [SOLVED] Trying to figure DeVeDe out again!!!!

GNUway Tech
July 31st, 2008, 04:20 AM
I am a newbie to Kubuntu, and so far I'm really liking it. I just have one small problem with one of my primary programs I've always used.:(

On a previous distro, I used DeVeDe to prepare DVDs of my home videos, and it worked great. But, since switching distros, I can't seem to get any DVDs made with DeVeDe to play in a home DVD player. I start it up, pick the file, pick to make an iso, and run it. The iso will burn to a DVD, and it will play in a computer. For some reason, though, it will not work in a home DVD player.:confused:

It doesn't make sense, because I can burn an audio CD that will play in a CD player. Is there something I'm missing, or another way I can burn avi files to DVD? I've tried transcoding the files with Avidemux, and I get the exact same result. All the files I'm using are avis of home videos made with a video camera.

pi.boy.travis
July 31st, 2008, 04:22 AM
Have you tried other DVD players? The DVDs I make with DeVeDe won't play on my really old player, but they play on all of my computers and newer players.

GNUway Tech
July 31st, 2008, 04:50 AM
The 1st DVD I made with it played in both my DVD players. None that I've made since then have played in them.:mad: I did manage to get one to play in my mother's portable DVD player, but it didn't have any sound.:confused:

pi.boy.travis
July 31st, 2008, 04:54 AM
Now that you mention it, none of mine ever worked in portable players. . . I've never looked into this problem, because they always did what I needed them for. . .

GNUway Tech
August 1st, 2008, 04:56 AM
Is there anybody else with this experience, or advice about how to fix it????

pi.boy.travis
August 1st, 2008, 05:55 PM
Do you have the proper libs? libdvdcss2, libdvdnav4, libdvdread2, etc?

GNUway Tech
August 2nd, 2008, 03:57 AM
Can you tell me all of the libs that I need????????

pi.boy.travis