PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] 2 swap files?

cake_or_death
July 29th, 2008, 06:46 AM
hi all -

I'm new to Linux, and recently installed Hardy 8.04 on my Vaio CR series laptop. Suspend and hibernate are not working. I've read through several of the threads on this topic, but none of the suggested fixes have worked. I'm looking at my partition editor now and it shows that I have two swap files: /dev/sda5 and /dev/sda7. I've reinstalled Hardy from the live cd twice after my obsessive tweaking of the system got a little out of hand and led me to a grub "error 22". Both times I've selected the guided partitioning option. Could this be why I have two swap files? also, could the existence of dual swap files be what's preventing my suspend and hibernate from working? any help would be much appreciated.

namegame
July 29th, 2008, 06:51 AM
Also, the size of your swap partitions could affect the performance of your suspend/hibernate. I would recommend that your swap partition be the same size as your ram or even a bit larger just in case you have bad sectors.

EDIT: More experienced person took care of it.

PmDematagoda
July 29th, 2008, 06:51 AM
The two Hardy install attempts might be the source of the problem with the two swap partitions. But about the suspend/hibernation issues, what are the specifications of your PC?

Edit:- Having two or more swap partitions as swap does not cause any problems in normal operation, but it may have an affect on suspend/hibernation, though I am not entirely sure about that. Perhaps you could just disable one swap partition through /etc/fstab(prevent it from mounting actually) and then try suspending or hibernating?

Sef
July 29th, 2008, 06:58 AM
How much ram do you have? 1 GB and more ram needs only 1 GB swap, if any.

namegame
July 29th, 2008, 07:03 AM