PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] du -s not working.

Suilenroc
July 29th, 2008, 03:53 AM
So I'm new to Ubuntu. You've probably gathered that by my being on this particular forum, though, so I'll skip the pre information. All that I really need to say is that I've been using this guide to learn how to use the shell/terminal in Ubuntu. In the guide, I'm currently learning how to create a simple shell script that will allow me to output my system information in an HTML file. However, there's a part in it that wants to show the information in my home directory. The command that was given in the guide was

du -s /home/* | sort -nr

However, anything with

du -s

in it returns this error:

du: cannot read directory `./.dbus': Permission denied
2706936 .

So, does anyone know how to solve this? Thanks!

iaculallad
July 29th, 2008, 04:03 AM
Try:

sudo du -s

cheetaux
July 29th, 2008, 04:11 AM
I'm guessing that you have a directory called .dbus in your home directory that you do not have read permission on (you probably created it accidently)

Type

ls -la
and see if there is a directory named .dbus listed.

Suilenroc
July 29th, 2008, 04:19 AM
I've tried running it with sudo, when I do that, it just tells me the same thing, but, instead of it being ./.dbus that it can't access, it's ./.gvfs.

I've tried running it as root with the

su

command. But even that doesn't work. When listed with ls -l, both of these files come up, and the owners are root.

jordanmthomas
July 29th, 2008, 04:23 AM
I've actually had the same problem before, and root couldn't even delete the .gvfs directory.

It was strange, and I don't remember what I did to resolve it...at least you can rest assured you're not crazy.

Suilenroc
July 29th, 2008, 04:24 AM
Hah, well, that's good. It's not like it's crippling, but it's strange.

(Fun fact: my first thought when this happened was "virus." Then, I remember I wasn't on windows. :P )

cheetaux
July 29th, 2008, 04:32 AM