PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] [SOLVED] Firefox Question?

mariane_08
July 29th, 2008, 12:14 AM
OK I'm a beginner so here are two basic questions about Firefox!

1. How do I set it so it does NOT automaically load Firefox when I boot up? right now it goes straight into Firefox every time.

2. I understand the Hardy install disk I downloaded has Firefox 3 beta on it (at least that's what I read in a Linux mag the other day) So I looked at the Firefox 3 download and got the impression that it's no longer beta (correct me if I'm wrong)

I downloaded Firefox 3 and it's now on my desktop as a tar folder. I clicked on extract and extracted it to the desktop and now have a second Firefox folder there. My original Firefox shortcut remains. How do I get it to update? or have I gone about this in the wrong way? Please tell me how I should do this (asssuming the download is more recent than the original install version)

Thanks

Mhurst1
July 29th, 2008, 12:18 AM
Firefox loads at startup?? Does it go to a certain page?? If you ran the updater you have firefox 3.0.1 which is not a beta.

rockerphil
July 29th, 2008, 12:24 AM
my advice is to open up a terminal and run this

sudo apt-get update

then run this

sudo apt-get dist-upgrade

that should update your system. hope it helps,

Phil

edit: with Linux you rarely have to download a program from a web site to install it, simply look in either the Add/Remove, Synaptic Package Manager, or you can do your own package management via the command line with either apt-get or aptitude

RuleMaker
July 29th, 2008, 12:31 AM
1) To remove firefox from startup:
go to System->Preferences->Sessions->Startup Programs(tab) and remove firefox from there.
2) If you have updated your system after installation then you have updated your firefox too, it should be 3.0.1 now. To update firefox manually:
in terminal type:

gksudo firefox
In firefox select Help->Check For Updates

alzie
July 29th, 2008, 12:35 AM
Welcome to the forums :)