PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Wireless Issues

shrewsbury
July 28th, 2008, 08:35 PM
So I'm really new to Ubuntu. I have the operating system installed already and I'm dual booting with Windows at the moment.

The problem is that I can not get my wireless card to work.

I'm using a Marvell TopDog 802.11n (CB82) wireless adapter. I've read some things here but I'm finding it fairly difficult to understand. Also, all of the guides require the use of the internet through a wire to get things up and running.

I was wondering if anyone knows how to get this up and running without use of ethernet? And a fairly noob-proof explanation would be great.

Thanks in advance if anyone can help. :):)

ibuclaw
July 28th, 2008, 08:45 PM
if it requires drivers, rather difficultly...

What is the output of this command in the terminal?

iwconfig
If your wireless card has been detected and the modules loaded, this will tell you.

Regards
Iain

bobnutfield
July 28th, 2008, 08:50 PM
According to several posts in other forums, there is no native driver for Linux for this chipset. So, if that is the case, you will need to use Ndiswrapper, which, according to same posts, WILL work with this wireless chipset. Marvell is generally poorly supported natively in Linux.

If that is what you have to do to get it working, it should not be too difficult for us to get you through it.

Bob

shrewsbury
July 28th, 2008, 08:59 PM
Okay cool. that iwconfig command returns

lo no wireless extensions
eth0 no wireless extensions

Also, is there any wireless cards that work pretty much out of the box with Ubuntu? Because of it's going to be a huge hassle, maybe just buying a new card is the way to go?

ibuclaw
July 28th, 2008, 09:10 PM
It might not be a huge hassle, but mileage may vary depending on knowledge.

It appears that you will most definitely require a hard-link connection first though, as you'll have to get ndiswrapper, the windows drivers for ndiswrapper to use, etc...