PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Several problems

LovelyAcorns
July 28th, 2008, 06:09 PM
Okay, I'm new to using linux. I currently dont have internet, so I have to burn cds at friends' houses and then bring them home. Well, after doing that and following the whole makefile way of compiling the source codes, it always says that C compiler can't compile. What am I doing wrong? I was thinking maybe I needed the build-essential package or something?

Also when I try to install things, it always ends up telling me I need to install some other package first, yet the website never seems to say that. How do you figure out what all the required packages are prior to an installation attempt?

Where am I supposed to store applications to be able to use them? Simply double clicking on the binary file does nothing.

Something went wrong with my keyboard setup, because the single and double quotes show up slanted, which python considers invalid syntax. I can't find my keyboard on the list, so I was wondering if there is another way?

Sorry for all the questions, but thanks if you can help me solve any of them.

Het Irv
July 28th, 2008, 06:20 PM
I know that build-essential is on the Live CD, I am not sure where but if you boot into Ubuntu and stick in the Live CD is will prompt you to open a package manager. I think you can install build essential from there.

The second problem may be related to the first or it might be that you are missing some dependencies for that program. Which program are you trying to install?

There isn't any special place for programs, but to run binary files you may need to change the permissions, just right click on the file, go to properties, and then the permissions tab. You should see a check box close to the bottom that when checked will allow you to run the file as a program.

What Keyboard do you have?

LovelyAcorns
July 28th, 2008, 06:40 PM